Credits
I have four drives.

One of which has windows (this one CANNOT be formatted);
one will get ubuntu put on it;
one will run Debian;
One Which will receive Archlinux.

Is this feasible?

Does GRUB check all drives for OS's?

If it's not feasible, is there any way I can quad-boot and use all four Drives?

I apologize if this was an agonizing read. I'm a PC noob.

Edit:
To simplify, I'm going to name the drives. And list their current OS and the OS they are going to receive.
Windows 10 -> Windows 10, c:
Windows 10 -> Debian, x:
Windows 7 -> Ubuntu, y:
N/A -> Archlinux, z:

Edit 2: I learned RAID does not use master/slave configs.

Last edited:

Hey there @Nissakiorate - welcome to Linux.org!

I haven't dual-booted in a while, but you can do this - i'm just not the guy to tell you how to get it going.. lol. Just wanted to welcome you aboard! I'm sure someone will come along shortly though.
Alright, Thanks!

That would be moi, I expect :)

0cd7RxV.gif

(Wizard appears in a puff of smoke).

G'day @Nissakiorate and welcome.

1. With Windows 10 you likely have your computer in UEFI mode as opposed to the older BIOS, are you familiar with those terms?
  2. What are the capacities of drives x, y and z?
  3. Are they internal or external, and if external, are they powered with a mains plug or unpowered and draw their power from the USB connection?
  4. Do you have a Windows install disk to safeguard your Windows, or do you know how to make a Recovery Disk or USB for it (could need a 16 GB USB stick)?
We will likely have more questions, but if you can start in answering those, that would be good.

Cheers

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz

Reactions: Rob
With Windows 10 you likely have your computer in UEFI mode as opposed to the older BIOS, are you familiar with those terms?

I am familiar with these terms.

What are the capacities of drives x, y and z?

d: is 80GB. Brand: WD. Type: HDD.
x: is 80GB. Brand: WD. Type: HDD.
y: is 80GB. Brand: WD. Type: HDD.