Configuring A Gravis Controller for Steam LM 21.1 Cinnamon [Solved]

Alexzee

Reaction score
Credits
Steam runs great on my LM 21.1 Asus Tuf Gaming rig so that's the good news.

The other news is that I don't get how to configure/tweak the Gravis controller so that it will provide better performance.

The Kensington Gravis Eliminator Game Pad Pro controller works however, it's very laggy and fails to get the character in the game moving quickly. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

See the screenshot that I'm looking at on my system-

Attachments

• Steam Controller Config.jpg
    Steam Controller Config.jpg
    758.4 KB · Views: 222

Are you looking to change things on Linux or on Steam?

jstest-gtk lets you tweak some things on the Linux side. Steam has it's own settings.

Are you looking to change things on Linux or on Steam?

jstest-gtk lets you tweak some things on the Linux side. Steam has it's own settings.
I don't know because I'm new to Steam and not sure what should be tweaked to make the controller have better performance.
What do you recommend?

I'd start with calibrating the gamepad in Steam and see if that helps. In Steam: View > Settings > Controller > General Controller Settings.

If that's insufficient or for non Steam games try calibrating in jstest-gtk instead.

If you still need more controls beyond that try something like input-remapper. That creates a virtual device you can map your inputs on with configurable deadzone, gain, macros etc.

The Arch wiki also has a lot of information about gamepads and their settings:

Last edited by a moderator:
Is a controller with both cable and wireless connection functionality or just with cable and how are you connected if it has both?

Is a controller with both cable and wireless connection functionality or just with cable and how are you connected if it has both?
The controller has a cable only. No wireless connection.