Book recommendations?

khedger

Reaction score
Credits
Hi all,
I've been using Linux/Unix/MacOs for several years. I want to start really buttoning down and learning the lower level stuff that I don't really understand....things that I solve by typically doing some google searching, finding a rote solution, and applying it. This usually solves the problem, but I haven't really understood what I've done.
Particular areas I can think of are thinks like understanding and manipulating the boot loader and boot process, loading modules into memory, system architecture, and the like.
For instance, I recently bought a laptop with linux already loaded, but I didn't know the root password. I found some info online about getting into the boot sequence and adding some code to one of the statements, causing the computer to boot up to a root command line. From there a few commands and I was able to reset the root password. I'd like to get to the point where I had the expertise to work out these kinds of solutions instead of having to ask someone.
So, I'm wondering if anyone can recommend a good book or two that will present this information in a useful way.

Thanks in advance,

keith

G'day Keith, and Welcome to linux.org

That could have been me writing the above.......the mindset was so familiar.

I will follow this with interest.

Brian

I recommend How Linux Works - What every superuser should know - 2nd edition by Brian Ward (no starch press)

This is a great book which explains a lot about the internals of a GNU/Linux based operating system. It's pretty comprehensive and fairly in-depth.