Bombarded with email spam

UpNorth

Reaction score
Credits
For the last several months, the email address I use for personal and bills has been bombarded daily with spam emails, like 5-10 per day. It's various, but some recurring ones are Ace Hardware, Dewalt, Kitchen-Aid, Lowe's, weight loss, hearing aids, Fedex spoofing... you get the gist. Blocking doesn't work for long because the addresses keep changing. My provider only allows a certain number of addresses to block, and I've reached my limit.

I use Thunderbird mail. The filtering tool is somewhat effective. I'm not an expert at using it, but I am able to filter by domain such as .ru. My provider won't let me do that. But the domains are always changing and the spelling for the same topic keeps changing (Dewalt, De-Walt, etc.), so it's not very effective. I'm constantly having to update my filters and it's really annoying.

Usually these things come in waves and go away, but not this time. It's been going on for months. Of course I don't click on anything. I just want it to go away. Wondering if this is a problem for others and how you deal with it. Are there any effective spam blocking programs?

I Have the Spam filter set on my Google account, but it still doesn't get all of them, those that get through [and you don't need to open them to tell if they are fake] I just mark as spam and send direct to the bin,

Your current address by your description sounds like over and done. For the future, if you ever make a new account somewhere (Protonmail I recommend) take the time and figure out how this service works:

Never again give your real email on the internet for registrations etc. It belongs to Proton, I use it since before they acquire it and I can't imagine baffling around the internet without it

then apply the Spam Assassin filters on Thunderbird
That is good advice.
Found in Account Settings
1710036443640.png

Found in "Settings"....not account settings
Under privacy & Security
1710036588668.png