WiFi not working in Acer Aspire v5-122p 0646 with v22.04

ederueda

Reaction score
Credits
Dear Community,

I'm quite new to Linux. I'm trying to be able to use an old Acer Aspire v5-122p 0646 laptop where Windows is lagging constantly, and, after installing Ubuntu 22.04, the system doesn't shows the WiFi icon neither has Internet.
I've run the lspci -nnk | grep 0280 -A3 command to see the network card and I get a Broadcom BCM43142 802.11b/g/n [14e4:4365] (rev 01).
Besides that, I've used the keyboard combination to "disble and enable the WiFi", but still the same.

The laptop has no rj45 connector, so the WiFi card is the only way to connect to the Internet.

Can you please help me to set it up?

Thanks a million in advance!

Welcome to the forums

you may be in luck, the BCM 43*** drivers should be there,
open menu
open all applications
find and click on additional drivers and let it run and if it finds the BCM driver set, select and enter

Welcome to the forums

you may be in luck, the BCM 43*** drivers should be there,
open menu
open all applications
find and click on additional drivers and let it run and if it finds the BCM driver set, select and enter
Thanks for replying so quickly. Anyway, when I go to Additional Drivers, it appears empty with a "No additional drivers available"... any other ideas? Thanks a lot in advance

ok do you have a mobile phone with data contract [or one you can borrow from a family member]
Tether the phone to the laptop
open menu, open software manager, in the search type b43,
select b43 legacy installer and install

To see if the b43 driver is on your system run:
Code:
find /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel -name "*" | grep b43
If its there, load it with:
Code:
modprobe b43
Then see if the networking software sees it. You could try the b43legacy driver as well if b43 fails.

If the driver is not there, you need to install it. The driver is present in later kernels so if your kernel doesn't have it, consider upgrading the kernel.