Why are there no easy ways in Linux to retrieve system information?

Beaver763987450

Reaction score
Credits
I use Linux for quite some time, but I am somewhat new to the Linux internals, the Linux philosophy of things, and the command line tools in Linux.
I am also a developer and I was interested in creating my own tools for Linux.

The first thing that I wanted to try, was to find a way to programmatically retrieve CPU/RAM/Disk utilization and also retrieving APT package information for using it to build a server monitoring and management tool.

The Windows way for all these things is calling Windows API functions.
E.g. for CPU utilization: https://stackoverflow.com/a/43357695

Trying to find the way to do this in Linux caused a massive headache for me because:
  • There are no OS APIs, as far as I know.
  • The tools that exists in Linux (e.g. APT) often don't provide ways to have input/output served in a machine-readable format. Not to mention that they might not be installed at all...
  • Using virtual files like /proc/stat to retrieve information seems complex/hacky/unreliable/inefficient because, there is a lot of parsing going on (reference this and this).

Perhaps this goes along the same dividing topic, revolving around whether to have central and essential tools, like systemd, to perform actions or let each application do everything from scratch. But wouldn't it be nice if there was one of the below things? :

• An API to retrieve OS information. I am guessing people in Linux are not so fond of this idea for some reason.
  • Tools (like APT, systemd, etc) that also provide machine-readable input/output options in a consiste.
  • Virtual files (like /proc/stat) where you can at least read data in a binary format, and don't have to parse strings, or remember what each text-column is (since you could read an entire struct with names that are prettier).