what distor

T

thinkdontblink

Hi guys, Im relatively new to linux, I run ubuntu on one pc just for playing around with, But mostly I use mac for editing my photos and general stuff, I d like to run linux on my main iMac to force me to learn linux as Its a skill id like to acquire. What linux os would you recommend that is flexible enough for my to learn the inner workings of linux, While still being practical enough to suff and edit photos, ''can that be done?'' Are there any downsides to running photoshop thru ''wine'' compered to a OS X or should i just learn Gimp?.

A lot of questions but il look forward to your replies :)

Yes, a lot of questions with no clear answers. And I'd be hard pressed to give you a straight answer to any of them.
What kind of photo editing do you do? Is that your source of income? Is your lively-hood dependent on 'Photoshop'?
If you don't do advanced photo editing but rather just lighten photos, remove red eye, brush out the jackass who bombed your romantic photo by the waterfall, etc.... then yeah, GIMP should be a snap. The only 'big' change for someone like that would be finding replacements for their favorite macros and such. After all, a brush is a brush, a pen is a pen, and a plate of pad se ew is freaking' divine!!
Not knowing your Mac I can't suggest you just VirtualBox the Linux install and play from there, it might not be able to handle the overhead. But I'm about as sure that you can dual boot as I am sure that my feet smell like boiled cabbage after a long hike.

Truth is, I like Macs. They underlying code is pulled from *BSD. You get yourself a shell on that puppy (Terminal) and you can really have some fun. (I have WindowMaker installed on my MBP) :) But I'm a FreeBSD fan, typing this post using it actually.