Upgrading kernel require reinstall of Nvidia driver?

CaffeineAddict

Reaction score
Credits
I don't have a link but I've read somewhere on debian wiki that if you install Nvidia driver that is downloaded from nvidia website
then it's mandatory to reinstall the driver every time you upgrade your kernel because the driver is bound to one kernel only.

Today I got kernel update from backports so I followed this advice to avoid bricking my system and it works fine.
Sadly I couldn't test this because if I did I might not be able to boot into the new kernel, and I've only now figured out I could boot into old kernel but it's too late to test it.

What I'm asking is, is this true?
Would I be able to boot into the new kernel if I didn't reinstall the driver for the new kernel?

@CaffeineAddict :-

I'm no expert on this, because many of us in Puppyland tend to stick with a given kernel for quite a while.....the idea being that "if it works, why try to 'fix it'"? With Puppy's unique way of doing things, you get the choice - at the end of every session - of whether you want to 'save' it or not, so.....

(shrug...)

We use a Puppy-native utility built by one of our Japanese members, that takes the .run file from the Nvidia site and does everything needed to install it (this includes compiling the kernel modules, obviously). I don't know what family of distros you're using, but from what I understand all Debian-based distros use the 'dpkg' framework to auto-download & recompile the kernel modules FOR you, automatically, every time you get a kernel upgrade come down the tubes.....

I'm willing to be corrected on this.

Mike. ;)

but from what I understand all Debian-based distros use the 'dpkg' framework to auto-download & recompile the kernel modules FOR you, automatically, every time you get a kernel upgrade come down the tubes.....

I'm willing to be corrected on this.