Thinking in bash?

oslon

Reaction score
Credits
How to think in bash?
As a past programmer, I keep thinking in C. I want to think in bash which I believe is patchy and clever way of writing programs, rather than the classic procedural C code.

Technically Bash is an imperative, procedural language just like C. It has variables and you do things step by step, in a certain logical order. The main difference between bash and C is that bash is an interpreted scripting language, whereas C programs have to be compiled to a native binary format before they can be ran. The syntax of bash is also slightly different to C - but aside from the differences in syntax, you still need to solve problems in the same way. Using a set of logical steps to reach the desired outcome.

The cool thing about Bash is - you can create command lines which can run/chain -together multiple scripts/programs, passing the output of one script/program to the input of another using pipes/inter process communication.

So bash is kinda like glue in a way. You can use it to stick a bunch of other scripts/programs together, ha ha.
With C, you can create a bunch of small programs that do very limited things (you can also create bigger, more complex programs, but in Unix/Linux, smaller, more atomic programs are preferred wherever possible!). In Unix/Linux environments, we already have a ton of small programs like ls, sed, awk, cut, grep etc, which are all C programs.
Using bash, you can create scripts that run one or more of these programs in a sequence, to maniuplate data which is passed between the programs ran in the script.

So think of C as a way of creating individual software components that deal with specific input in a particular, limited way. And think of bash as a way of chaining the inputs/outputs of multiple programs (or scripts) in order to perform more complex transformations on data.