[ solved ] Encountering some trouble installing linux on ASUS FX505DY

So when I tried to install nvidia drivers it did not recognize an nvidia card, which I suppose is for the best. I did get to the stable repos but I'm brand new to linux and I wasn't able to figure out how to install the speicific drivers for for the 560x. Was fun to poke around for a bit through the menus however.

I will mention @Brickwizard here, and also @Lord Boltar, @dos2unix ....... and @Lufo .....all of whom have way more experience than I.

They will not come online until later...(different time zones etc etc)

Their input will be invaluable.

Last edited:

Radeon™ Software for Linux® installer version 22.20 for Ubuntu 22.04 and 22.04.01
Revision Number
File Size
14 KB
Release Date
7/14/2022
DOWNLOAD*

The above are just an educated guess on my part....better that the guys who know about this stuff look it over first.

However....your amd gpu is definitely ok with Linux.

Note that the driver download i have referred to above is for Ubuntu 22.040& 22.04.01.....All Linux OS's are based on Ubunto....so with a bit of luck MX and Linux Mint and of course Ubuntu itself will be ok with that.

Last edited:
Sweet, well its good to know thats not a point of conflict. I downloaded the deb file, although I do not know how to make use of it. Should I try booting MX and downloading the file / getting the amd installer package, or is there more to it than that? Or is there a way to try it with Ubuntu and install it before booting from the usb. I don't quite understand how the installer packages work yet but I can try to experiment and figure it out.

.All Linux OS's are based on Ubunto...