Questions about Kali Linux

• Thread starter Evolutionarysleeper
  • Start date
E

Evolutionarysleeper

If i say anything that doesnt make sense please correct me and try to fill me in on my misunderstandings (sure you can laugh) as im a complete beginner

So i tried burning the ISO of full kali linux (32bit) and nothing would happen when i booted from the cd drive, just a black screen, then shortly it would follow through to HDD boot.

I was pretty frustrated so i just burnt a new disk of MINI kali linux. Tried the same thing, and voila i get the install kali screen. So i proceed to install it, with some trouble being a complete beginner to linux. But anyways i finally get it set up.

Now ive been searching everywhere as i encounter problems and the odd time there will be a few answers but they usually dont work.

I cant even find what the difference between kali mini and full is. Im assuming mini is the base interface with nothing extra. If thats true Is it possible to just download all the extra packages until my linux is basically the same as the full? Or do i have to actually download the full? which i would have if it worked..

Im using an oldish toshiba laptop BTW. Some one told me "overthewireorg" is a good place to start, but literally on level 0 it asks me for the password, i type bandit0, then i get permission denied? i dont understand it at all.

and i constantly see people with there directory thing like "root@kali~$" with the $ sign? is that just a directory they changed to or is there somthing im missing?

ugh so many questions, basically i want to know how to tell forsure if i have everything setup right? Is there some command you can run that does this?

thanks for your time

"The Kali mini ISO is a convenient way to install a minimal Kali system and install it “from scratch”. The mini install ISO wi.ll download all required packages from our repositories, meaning you need to have a fast Internet connection to use this installation method."