Question re: running Renpy on Linux?

Nao57

Reaction score
Credits
So I tried to install the renpy program from the software manager to be able to run Renpy games on Linux. There's a renpy program for Linux. So it should work.

It should... work... .?

The program is there and is reviewed at 4.0. Its working for most people. But when I try to install it, every single time it gives an error halfway through.

Is it possible there's other prerequisite programs you need installed first on Linux, before you can install the Linux renpy game running app? And if so what and which order?

For reference I was running latest Mint 21 installation. I'm not a programmer also, so doing code probably wouldn't work for me. But I do like Linux as Windows just kept getting worse and worse every year.

Thanks.

So I tried to install the renpy program from the software manager to be able to run Renpy games on Linux. There's a renpy program for Linux. So it should work.

It should... work... .?

The program is there and is reviewed at 4.0. Its working for most people. But when I try to install it, every single time it gives an error halfway through.

Is it possible there's other prerequisite programs you need installed first on Linux, before you can install the Linux renpy game running app? And if so what and which order?

For reference I was running latest Mint 21 installation. I'm not a programmer also, so doing code probably wouldn't work for me. But I do like Linux as Windows just kept getting worse and worse every year.

Thanks.
Whoa, dude! Installing Renpy on Linux should be a breeze, but it sounds like you're hitting some roadblocks. No worries, though! Let's see if we can get you up and running.

First off, it's great to hear that you're diggin' Linux. It's an awesome OS, far outperforming Windows in many ways.