Need Help With Tar Files

J

Jude

So im very new to linux and i love it so far i just really need help with tar files. im running the newest version of Mint Cinnamon and i understand everything except the tar files so far :/ for example when i try to download utorrent all i get is a tar file with a bunch of files inside of it. so if there is anyone that can teach me how to open and use these files that would be awesome :)

thanks,
Jude

.tar files are 'tape archive' files. A file format, where multiple files and directories are packaged together in a single archive. More often than not the tar file is compressed further using gzip or bzip2, yielding a .tar.gz or .tar.bz2 file.

Basically, you can think of .tar (and .tar.gz, tar.bz2 etc..) files as being more or less equivalent to a .zip file, or a .rar file.
To extract files from a tar file, you can use the command-line:
Code:
tar xvf ./yourtarfile.tar.gz

Or you could use Mint's file-manager to extract the files by right clicking on the file and selecting the option to extract files.

As for what's actually in the archive that you've downloaded, I couldn't say offhand.
{ Goes to take a look at the utorrent site }

OK, so it looks like utorrent is freeware and is not truly FREE software (because there is no source code download to allow you to build your own binaries).

Looking at the download sections on the utorrent site, it appears that the downloads there are built for very specific Linux distros. Mint is not mentioned anywhere there, so I would not take it for granted that any of the Linux versions available there will work properly, or even at all. The builds that are available there are all quite old too. Also all of the Linux utorrent software appears to be server software, rather than client software. If you plan to run a server, then fine I guess, you could give one of those builds a shot........ Personally, I wouldn't - but that's just me!