Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

  1. Note: we recently updated out site software, please report any unseen issues - we do this often to insure your information is secure.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help to connect to wi-fi.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Birjendra Rawat, Feb 24, 2018.

  1. Birjendra Rawat

    Birjendra Rawat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,



    I am new to Linux installed mint a couple of days back.Now need to connect to wi-fi although installed b43 installer but no success.
    Please Help!!

    Thanks & Regards
    Birjendra Rawat
     
  2. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    973
    Hello @Birjendra Rawat and welcome to linux.org :)

    At your Mint Terminal (Ctrl-Alt-t is shortcut), can you type in and enter the following

    Code:
    inxi -Fxs
    ... and paste the output into this thread? This will tell us a bit more about your environment, no personal details are compromised.

    Also, if you have not already done so, you should enable the Uncomplicated FireWall (aka UFW), this can also be done from Terminal.

    Code:
    sudo ufw enable
    If this is the first time you have used "sudo", you will see that it prompts you to enter your password, do so, there will be no movement of the insertion point (security), and enter.

    You will be rewarded with a message that ufw is enabled, and that a small startup script has been generated which will load each time you boot/reboot.

    A couple more questions:

    1. You say
    - can you tell us how you installed it? For example, through Synaptic Package Manager or other means?

    2. Do you remember if the wifi worked when installing?

    3. Do you still have the installation medium (USB stick or DVD)?

    Cheers

    Chris Turner
    wizardfromoz
     
    atanere likes this.
  3. Birjendra Rawat

    Birjendra Rawat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  4. Birjendra Rawat

    Birjendra Rawat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    I appreciate your help.Below is the output:----------------------------------------------
    [email protected] ~ $ inxi -Fxs
    System: Host: birjendra-HP-Laptop-14-bs0xx Kernel: 4.13.0-36-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
    Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
    Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
    Machine: System: HP (portable) product: HP Laptop 14-bs0xx v: Type1ProductConfigId
    Mobo: HP model: 831C v: 17.41 Bios: Insyde v: F.30 date: 11/07/2017
    CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-6006U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
    flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 7968
    clock speeds: max: 2000 MHz 1: 2000 MHz 2: 2000 MHz 3: 2000 MHz
    4: 2000 MHz
    Graphics: Card: Intel Sky Lake Integrated Graphics bus-ID: 00:02.0
    Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
    Resolution: [email protected]
    GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 520 (Skylake GT2)
    GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.2.8 Direct Rendering: Yes
    Audio: Card Intel Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio
    driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
    Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-36-generic
    Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 4000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
    IF: eno1 state: down mac: ac:e2:d3:58:20:94
    Card-2: Realtek Device d723 port: 3000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
    IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
    Drives: HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (1.1% used)
    ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABD1 size: 1000.2GB
    Partition: ID-1: / size: 109G used: 6.2G (6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda10
    ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.17GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda7
    RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
    Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 31.5C mobo: N/A
    Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
    Info: Processes: 184 Uptime: 2 min Memory: 466.8/3830.8MB
    Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
    Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35
    [email protected] ~ $ sudo ufw enable
    [sudo] password for birjendra:
    Firewall is active and enabled on system startup
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    And answers to your queries are below:-
    - can you tell us how you installed it? For example, through Synaptic Package Manager or other means?
    ---- I installed it by downloading ISO image of mint from Linux.org and then I used application to convert
    ISO image to bootable pendrive.Thereafter I installed it through Pendrive.
    2. Do you remember if the wifi worked when installing?
    ----------No it didn't worked from starting although I am able to use wifi through windows.
    3. Do you still have the installation medium (USB stick or DVD)?
    --------No I erased the image and formatted the pendrive.But I can manage again if needed.

    Thanks Again and Cheers!!
     
    atanere and wizardfromoz like this.
  5. arochester

    arochester Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    186
    atanere likes this.
  6. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    973
    Hi Birjendra , and I concur with (Hi) @arochester.

    Are you able to give us the ouptut of the following:

    Code:
    lspci | grep -i net
    and also, do you have an Ethernet cable to run a wired connection and run updates?

    Cheers

    Wizard
     
    atanere likes this.
  7. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    1,158
    I might be chasing the wrong rabbit... but would you please provide the output from this command also:
    Code:
    rfkill list all
    Thanks
     

Share This Page