Linux update problem

jzzaj

Reaction score
Credits
Hi,

I have a problem that I've had a few times on Mint and Ubuntu and I don't know what causes it or how to fix it.
I have a laptop that I just use for general web browsing and email and over the last two years I've installed Mint and Ubuntu on it.
I like to keep the system updated so I always use the built in software updater to make sure the OS is up to date. The problem is that eventually I encounter a 'the package system is broken' error. This has happened on all systems and I try to fix the problem using the recommended commands that people say to use but nothing fixes it, so I end up installing the OS.

I'm currently using Ubuntu and the same thing has happened. I tried to update 4.15.0.45 but I get the error so when I boot I have to select 4.15.0.43 otherwise there is no wifi with 4.15.0.45.

Any advice appreciated as to why this keeps happening.

Thanks

I'm no Linux expert, but what I've found with booting to an older kernel after updating to a newer one is that it's sort of booting to safe mode. The system's designed for you to only boot to the newly installed kernel. Booting to the old gets you into a shell where you can work to get an issue resolved. Somethings don't work anymore in the old kernel but you could do your role back here.

Last edited:
Thanks for the advice, I'm going to try the Ubuntu link on arochester's reply and see if I can fix the problem.

I tried to fix the problem, please see below:

Code:
sudo apt-get update –fix-missing
OK no errors

Code:
sudo dpkg --configure -a

output

dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of linux-image-generic:
linux-image-generic depends on linux-modules-extra-4.15.0-45-generic; however:
Package linux-modules-extra-4.15.0-45-generic is not installed.

dpkg: error processing package linux-image-generic (--configure):
dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of linux-generic: