Linux Drivers For Dell Latitude E6230

ZeusMC

Reaction score
Credits
Hello,
I'm very much a newbie regards computers and an absolute novice regards Linux.
I'm thinking of buying a a Windows 10 Dell Latitude E6230 i5-3340M Laptop PC 8GB DDR3 - 256GB SSD. Before doing so I want to be sure all the components parts of this machine, compatible Linux drivers are available?
Could someone help me on this please?
Thanks so much.

Hello @ZeusMC,
Welcome to the Linux.org forums.
looking at the specs of that machine Linux should work well with it. Only thing I'm not quite sure about is the wireless card. But others have said the install went well. With Linux most of the drivers you need are already installed in the Kernel depending upon the Distro you choose. One way find out what works and what does not is to run the distro of your choice in live mode. Most of the big distros offer a live usb .iso to download. Which distro are you looking to try? You may want to try several before you make up your mind which one will work best for you. Main thing is to enjoy the process and don't get frustrated as it will be all new to you but you'll learn it fast enough.

Hello @ZeusMC,
Welcome to the Linux.org forums.
looking at the specs of that machine Linux should work well with it. Only thing I'm not quite sure about is the wireless card. But others have said the install went well. With Linux most of the drivers you need are already installed in the Kernel depending upon the Distro you choose. One way find out what works and what does not is to run the distro of your choice in live mode. Most of the big distros offer a live usb .iso to download. Which distro are you looking to try? You may want to try several before you make up your mind which one will work best for you. Main thing is to enjoy the process and don't get frustrated as it will be all new to you but you'll learn it fast enough.
Hi,