Killall Gimp

fixit7

Member
Despite my saving images in Gimp, it shows a dialog box(Do you wanna save...) whenever I exit the program.

I consider that annoying at best, a bug at wor**.

Would it be ok, to do the following ?

killall gimp

Is there any things bad that can happen?

Thanks.
 


atanere

Well-Known Member
This behavior is by design, not a bug. It has a valid purpose, but it annoys me too.

The fastest/simplest solution is this: CTRL-Q and then CTRL-D.

But if you forget to export/save your image first... shame on you. :eek:o_O:D

Cheers
 

TechnoJunky

Silver Member
Silver Supporter
You may never experience any problems using killall gimp. However, it's not the right way of doing things. It's like getting in and out of your car by climbing thru the window instead of opening and closing the door. It's just not the right way to do it, unless you're the Dukes of Hazzard. :) You may never have a problem but one day you may get your foot caught in the steering wheel and end up hanging upside down over the door (i.e. forgetting to save, like Atanere says above).
 

fixit7

Member
I do not do any extensive image creation or modification.

So I feel the benefits of getting out quickly far outweigh the rare possibility of losing a little work.
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
So I feel the benefits of getting out quickly far outweigh the rare possibility of losing a little work.
If you haven't already noticed, CTRL-Q is almost a standard Linux shortcut to close any program quickly. Gimp just needs the extra nudge ( CTRL-D ) because it wants to you save your "project".... regardless of whether or not you saved/exported your image.

Cheers
 

Members online


Latest posts

Top