Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

GRUB Bootloader not showing up

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Skunkfoot, Oct 10, 2018.

  1. Skunkfoot

    Skunkfoot New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    I recently reinstalled the new version of Parrot Sec OS to dual boot with my Windows installation. However, instead of the normal GRUB bootloader loading and allowing me to select which OS I want to boot into, I get a limited GRUB command line interface. I can boot with a live USB, or I can boot into either OS with a Super GRUB2 Disk Live USB. What can I do to fix this?

    #uname -a
    Linux parrot 4.18.0-parrot8-amd64 #1 SMP Parrot 4.18.6-1parrot8 (2018-09-07) x86_64 GNU/Linux



    #lsblk
    NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
    sda 8:0 0 1.8T 0 disk ---------------------(Parrot Sec OS/Windows Storage Partitions)
    ├─sda1 8:1 0 267.7G 0 part ------------(NTFS/Basic Data Partition {Windows Storage})
    ├─sda2 8:2 0 238.4G 0 part / -----------(Parrot Sec OS Root Partition)
    ├─sda3 8:3 0 59.6G 0 part [SWAP] ----(Parrot Sec OS SWAP Partition)
    └─sda4 8:4 0 1.3T 0 part /home --------(Parrot Sec OS Home Partition)
    sdb 8:16 1 3.6G 0 disk ------------------(Super GRUB2 Disk Live USB)
    ├─sdb1 8:17 1 78K 0 part
    ├─sdb2 8:18 1 2.8M 0 part
    └─sdb3 8:19 1 12.1M 0 part
    nvme0n1 259:0 0 477G 0 disk --------------------(SSD/Windows Partitions)
    ├─nvme0n1p1 259:1 0 499M 0 part -------------(NTFS/Basic Data Partition)
    ├─nvme0n1p2 259:2 0 99M 0 part /boot/efi ----(FAT32/EFI System Partition)
    ├─nvme0n1p3 259:3 0 16M 0 part ---------------(Unknown/Microsoft Reserved Partition)
    └─nvme0n1p4 259:4 0 476.3G 0 part -----------(NTFS/Basic Data Partition)

    Any help would be much appreciated, let me know if there’s any additional sysinfo you need from me. Thanks.

    –Skunkfoot
     
  2. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    Define

    Does that make reference to eg grub> or grub rescue> ?

    (Wizard appears in a puff of smoke)

    Hi @Skunkfoot and welcome to linux.org :). Regrets on the time it has taken for someone to respond.

    I am an Aussie so you'll see me at different times.

    From your use of eg uname and lsblk (as root) - and thanks for the output, BTW - I'd reckon this is not your first time with Linux.

    Can you fill in the gaps a little on your knowledge?

    I have had Parrot on before, but not currently. I often run 60 - 80 Linux spread over a couple of computers. But I am not expert in its pen testing features.

    Did you get a good download, ie did you verify a shasum hashcheck, whatever?

    Perhaps take a pic of what Startup looks like with your phone and provide us with a screenshot?

    Cheers

    Chris Turner
    wizardfromoz
     
  3. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    ... and as a BTW postscript - tell me you are not really running a Swap sized at 60GB, lol
     
  4. Skunkfoot

    Skunkfoot New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Chris,

    Thanks for the response. First things first, I'm getting a GRUB> command line. I'm familiar with basic Linux command line usage and how the OS works, but definitely not an expert with some of the in-depth knowledge and troubleshooting that stuff like this requires. The OS works fine, I'm on it right now. I've already updated and upgraded and some other minor things that are typical with a new OS install, but the GRUB won't update appropriately. It may have something to do with the Windows boot partition being on my SSD, while Parrot is on my main HD. This is definitely doable, I had it running fine a couple weeks ago, but with this new install something just isn't clicking for some reason.

    This is what my screen looks like:
    [​IMG]

    Thanks again for trying to help me!

    --Skunkfoot

    >New ... and as a BTW postscript - tell me you are not really running a Swap sized at 60GB, lol

    Yeah I am, just put a random number in there. It's easy enough to resize if I want to shrink it. I have more than enough disk space for 60 GB, but as I understand it, after something like double the amount of RAM, swap space has diminishing returns. If there's an actual negative to having that large of a swap partition let me know and I'll fix that too!
     
    Condobloke and wizardfromoz like this.
  5. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    That's a seriously big Like I just put :)

    You might think about slipping over here https://www.linux.org/forums/member-introductions.141/ and saying Hi. You'll get to meet a few of the gang, and I am hopeful you will enjoy yourself here :D

    I have been here since 1 May 2017, a week after our re-org, and I have had a ball, and still am.

    Business.

    On the recalcitrant Grub Menu -

    Have a read of this, good advice is to print it out, I always carry a hard copy

    https://www.linux.com/learn/how-rescue-non-booting-grub-2-Linux

    Stan (you'll meet him, he is @atanere ) and I refer people to it when needed.

    Carla's article, albeit over 4 years old, is still relevant. I used it the other day, just to check.

    It deals with both grub> and grub rescue> so focus, for you on the grub> part but read the whole thing in context.

    In extremely technical terms, it sounds like your Parrot install has gone a little "wonky" :D:eek::rolleyes:

    ... so this might do the trick. If not, a reinstall of either Parrot or another Distro would be in order. An Ubuntu MATE or a Linux Mint (any DE - desktop environment) is always a safe as houses bet. You have the space.

    Try it out, and if you need more hands-on attention to fix the (lovely) coloured bird, we've got your back.

    On Swap - (giggle) I'll tell you a funny story some time about me and the "twice your RAM" theory.

    Use GParted to shrink it to eg 4GB, and see if you find any harm from it. You'll have to Swapoff, then resize, then reboot is best.

    Cheers, gotta fly

    Wizard
     
    Condobloke likes this.

Share This Page