Booting@running numerous distros from an ext SSD

Gio.Neve

Reaction score
Credits
Hey everyone!

I just signed up after reading some posts and saying to myself, I think I found the right place for all things Linux. You seem like a very knowledgeable and friendly bunch :)

Here is my quandary: I have some experience with Linux but haven't touched it for quite some time so I have lots of catching up to do. At the moment I want to setup an external SSD drive (250 gigs) to serve as my main linux drive from which I want to play with various distros to eventually settle on a server, desktop, lite and utility distribution; and maybe a fifth install just for testing future distros.

I have read tons of threads online about making multi-boot USB (or external SSD, HHD) drives, and they do exactly what they set out to do, ie, make a multi-boot drive that launches any one of many bootable ISO's. But that is not what I want to do. My goal is to have multiple, running, installations on the same external drive. Installations that I can continue to work on from day to day without losing anything when I shut down as would happen when shutting down an ISO 'trial' boot.

What I want to do is boot my computer and select the external drive as my boot device. When the drive boots it presents the various distros I can boot up, without in any way affecting the main computer drive.

I know this involves a more complex boot loader/manager process and a partition for each distro. I understand there can be some shared partitions for /storage /media and probably a single swap partition, but to avoid any potential issues each distro would have its own partition for everything else.

Any insight as to how I should approach this project would be immensely appreciated. I have read a little about UEFI and rEFInd. The computer is an Asus Vivobook M3500QC running Windows 11, which I do not want to risk messing up, hence a dedicated external SSD for Linux.

Look forward to hearing your thoughts.