Adding support for an experimental IPv6 Hop By Hop Extension header to a Router

paulmac

Reaction score
Credits
I am a Phd Researcher at Lancaster university researching the security of the UK Internet infrastructure.

I need to add support for a proposed experimental IPv6 Hop By Hop Extension Header to a routers Kernel to test my theories. I am more a server/network engineer and researcher than I am a programmer but I am able to write in Python and use scripting languages. Can anyone recommend tools and Router emulation software where one could add support for an experimental IPv6 Hop By Hop Extension Header in order to test the methodology ? The new extension header requires changes to the IFindex table (an additional field) and a new ACL to make routing decisions on the new field within the IFindex table.

From CoPilot.

Adding support for an experimental IPv6 Hop-By-Hop Extension Header (HBH) involves diving into the intricacies of network protocols and kernel-level programming.

Here are some steps and tools you might find useful:

1. Understanding IPv6 Extension Headers:
  2. Router Emulation Software:
    • To experiment with your proposed HBH extension header, consider using router emulation software. These tools allow you to simulate network environments and test your theories without deploying physical routers.
    • Some popular router emulation software includes:
      • GNS3: GNS3 is a powerful network simulation platform that allows you to create complex network topologies using virtual routers and switches. You can run real router images (such as Cisco IOS) in GNS3.
      • Packet Tracer: Cisco Packet Tracer is another tool for network simulation. While it’s primarily designed for educational purposes, it can be useful for testing network configurations.
      • Quagga: Quagga is an open-source routing software suite that provides implementations of various routing protocols. It can be used for testing and experimenting with routing decisions.