A quick introduction to rsyc

E

encryptedbytes

As a Linux noob, I recently discovered the rsync command and come to love it very quickly! Rsync stands for remote sync(hronization) and is typically used for backup operations in Linux by synchronizing files and directories from one location to another, either local or remote, in an effective way.

Rsync is fast! The first time you sync files, rsync replicates the entire contents of the source to the destination. Once the entire source has been replicated, subsequent transfers only sync data that has been changed, rather than copy everything over again.

Rsync allows data encryption using the SSH protocol, making is safe to use across public and other untrusted networks.

Rsync uses less bandwidth than conventional file copying mechanisms like cp and FTP by using compression and decompression of data block by block.

No special privileges are required to install and use rsync!

I've already implemented rsync in a simple bash script to backup the Linux-based file server on my home network, check it out:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

DEST1=/mnt/soho_storage/samba/shares/BACKUP_001
DEST2=/mnt/soho_storage/samba/shares/BACKUP_002

rsync -varhP --delete ./aud-books $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./aud-misc $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./aud-music $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./docs-books $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./docs-cards $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./docs-comics $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./docs-misc $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./img-misc $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./img-photos $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./sft-apps $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./sft-emu $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./sft-games $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./sft-misc $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./sft-system $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./vid-comedy $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./vid-edu $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./vid-home $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./vid-misc $DEST1
rsync -varhP --delete ./vid-music $DEST1