Trying to understand if I got these Linux Terminal commands right to backup RAW RAID drives before attempting recovery

Cyber Akuma

Reaction score
Credits
I have two 1TB SSDs that were part of a RAID0 array that held a Windows install. The drives themselves are fine, as is the data on them, the problem is that their controller (the motherboard that was running them in Intel raid) died. I have a backup, but it's from last July, and while this would still be a large chunk (like 98% or so) of my data, I would like to be able to recover my current data if possible.

I have been told that I can try just connecting them to any Intel board with the same or newer chipset and it should recognize them if it's in RAID mode, and was also told about being able to use dmraid in Linux to try to recover it without relying on the motherboard's controller.

Thing is, I am very new to Linux, with Mint being the one I am most familiar and experienced with, and most information I found on dmraid was just copies of it's man page. It's not a very easy or straightforward application to use for someone who is new, and since I was very worried I could easily run the wrong command somehow and corrupt my raid, I was suggested I could try making raw backup images of the individual disks first before attempting to mount them together and recover them.

Thing is.... I am also very unsure how to do this either, but at least it seems a bit more straightforward and better documented than dmraid, so.....

I was told to "navigate to an empty backup drive" and then to run a specific DD command on each drive to dump an image of it, but I want to make sure I understood it all before I try. I don't have the replacement hardware yet to actually try it yet, but I want to make sure I have everything in order before I attempt it.

I am going to be using the latest Linux Mint: