GPT4ALL and Debian 11

jasonspelts

Reaction score
Credits
Hello,

Sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place, I'm a bit of a noob.

I'm trying to install GPT4ALL on my machine. I'm running Buster (Debian 11) and am not finding many resources on this. I keep hitting walls and the installer on the GPT4ALL website (designed for Ubuntu, I'm running Buster with KDE Plasma) installed some files, but no chat directory and no executable. I am at a loss for getting this installed on my machine.

Anyone know of a step-by-step instruction for doing this? Has anyone installed on Debian 11?

Hi, welcome to the forum!

Can't help you with this one but someone who can will likely happen along.

I'm trying to install GPT4ALL on my machine. I'm running Buster (Debian 11) and am not finding many resources on this.
Welcome to the forums. Debian v11 is codenamed "Bullseye" not "Buster".

Maybe it's better if you upgrade to Debian v12 "Bookworm" if you can. But this is only a suggestion.

I'm sorry for not being more helpful than that.

Welcome aboard. :)

Not sure if this will help or not, but..

Ubuntu Installer​

After download and installation you should be able to find the application in the directory you specified in the installer.
NOTE: You may need to build from source if you are not working off of the latest version of Ubuntu.

I followed the instructions to the letter. Cloned the repository, downloaded the model... And that's as far as I got.

There was no "chat" directory in the cloned repository as stated in Step 3. The closest thing was "gpt4all-chat", but it did not contain the gpt4all-lora-quantized-linux-x86 file to execute and start the model.

Looks like they've changed a few things but never updated the directions.

Hello,

Sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place, I'm a bit of a noob.