small business with Linux?

I

irish

I looked through old threads but need a bit more.
I use Linux at home and love it. My friend has to get a new POS for her small store. I looked at apps like GNUCash ,LemonPOS and SUSE. Has anyone with a business used these or other Linux systems. I have read that Walgreens and GAP and Home Depot use Linux. I know they work but we need hardware, training and systems for a small health food store. She is told by her computer guy that fixed her old MS stuff to stay away from Linux, no one can work on it or knows it! we are in south Mississippi.:eek:
I am no expert but I know that he is way off. Can anyone steer me in the right direction? Know of a company that can do all and linux ? I would like her to stay ahead of the curve not lag behind and spend lots of $$ on MS.
Thanks to all

I'm just beginning to look into this. Here are some links that might help.

I've just been warned I can't post links yet. I'm new here, hence my user name "GNUguy."

I use ASK to search. I'm not a Google guy. Search using [Linux "POS systems"]. Don't include the brackets. DO include the quotes.

Some other issues to consider.

Some systems are free. Some are not.

FWIW, I was told if you need credit card processing, make sure the system is PCI compliant.

Search on [PCI compliant] using ASK. Tons of stuff comes up.

LemonPOS is a fine system, but appears to not have credit card capabilities. Also it's a one-man project. The guy has done great work so the one-man thing is a testament to his skill and dedication. I'm not sure how he handles updates re frequency. Further, there might be more people involved with the project now. My info might be out-dated.

If you buy used/refurbed hardware, be careful re touch-screens. Some have a limited MTBF or might be close to needing replacement.

I hope this admittedly sketchy info helps you. Like I said, I'm just beginning to learn about this area. Good luck.

Business apps for Linux

Hi there Irish