ARCH LINUX INSTALLATION

Discussion in 'Arch' started by Satheesh2020, Jul 25, 2013.

  1. Satheesh2020

    Satheesh2020 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the installation of archlinux needs internet

     
  2. SLW210

    SLW210 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Shouldn't, I think there is a Netboot option, but if you have the .iso, no internet needed.
     
  3. arochester

    arochester Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    372
    I would have said YES.
    http://www.packtpub.com/article/installing-arch-linux-using-the-official-iso

    There are Arch derivatives that will install without the Internet ---BUT they won't update without it e.g. Manjaro, Bridge, Archbang
     
    ryanvade likes this.
  4. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    643
    Like arochester said, yes.
    -- WonderWoofy, Arch Linux Forums
     
  5. MikeyD

    MikeyD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    119
    Yes you do, the beginner's guide on the Arch wiki has a detailed tutorial for both wired and wirelss devices. Its a bit odd as you need to connect when booting from a drive and then re-establish the connection when to reboot to your actual disk image, but yes you will need an internet connection for the second half of your installation as installing video drivers, sound drivers, X windows, DEs, and even the bootloader.
     

Share This Page