Moving from UNIX to Linux

etcetera

Reaction score
Credits
I have been a UNIX sysadmin for a long time and transitioned to Linux admin in the last decade or so. I can't say I have been thrilled with it. I've always thought of UNIX as the real thing and of Linux as a cheap aftermarket imitation, mainly cost-driven. But "Real" Unix is very slow and very expensive. That's why HP-UX and Solaris went away for the most part. For a while I had hope for Solaris x86. Even ran it on my personal box for years, exclusively (No Microsoft).

However I have come to see the benefits of it and embraced it. Runs on any hardware. Does not need expensive proprietary hardware from Sun or HP. Support communities. Et cetera.

I am in DC area, if there any other former UNIX admins who moved to Linux sysadmin, let's connect and engage in culinary activities.

SCO Forever!!!!

(just kidding)

Welcome aboard.

I think I fit into that Dilbert cartoon about a condescending old Unix guy. (though I am neither old nor condescending but it's funny anyway). /joke

An oldie, but a goodie :cool:
dilbert-unix.png

This is one of my favorites too. :oops::eek:
dilbert-unix2.png

I have been a UNIX sysadmin for a long time and transitioned to Linux admin in the last decade or so.
I guess you're already familiar with Slackware, right? 'Tis said that it is the most Unix-like of the distros, so you might find it easier than I do! ;) Welcome!

I am in DC area, if there any other former UNIX admins who moved to Linux sysadmin, let's connect and engage in culinary activities.
It sounds like you're ambitious enough to start a LUG! Though you might Google around first... I'd guess a big metro area like that may already have one or two groups that you might hook up with instead of starting a new one. Good luck!

Last edited:
I haven't seen the second one. Pure Dilbert.