Window's Instances are showing 1G NIC speed on 10G at the backend

vivek123

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
2
Credits
30
Hello Guys,

So i have recently deployed few instances on KVM. My backend NIC's are 10G but when i deploy any instance in KVM hypvervisor. All of window's instances are now showing only 1G NIC speed.

This happened with VMware too, but it was resolved the moment i have changed NIC adaptor from E1000 to VMXnet3. So what should i need to change inside the KVM in order to achieve 10G card instead of 1G.

Regards
Vivek Kumar
 


f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,911
Reaction score
2,647
Credits
28,263
You can either try changing the network interface device model to a different type, e1000 is also available in QEMU or you could try install the Windows KVM network drivers available through the iso.
 
OP
V

vivek123

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
2
Credits
30
Hey,
Thanks for the response. I have just checked and virtio drivers are already installed and it's still showing 1G interface instead of 10G.

here is the output of dumpxml -

<interface type='bridge'>
<mac address='02:00:32:71:00:01'/>
<source bridge='brbond0-2714'/>
<bandwidth>
<inbound average='25600' peak='25600'/>
<outbound average='25600' peak='25600'/>
</bandwidth>
<target dev='vnet8'/>
<model type='e1000'/>
<link state='up'/>
<alias name='net0'/>
<address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x03' function='0x0'/>
</interface>

should i change to virtio in <model type > ?
 
OP
V

vivek123

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
2
Credits
30
Hey..!

So i changed the model type from E1000 to virtio - and it's now started showing 10G..!

Thanks mate for your help..! Much appreciated..!

Enjoy and be safe..!

Regards
Vivek Kumar
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online


Top