Will this graphics card "Fit" ??



atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,628
Reaction score
2,781
Credits
41
This link shows several possible solutions for Ubuntu and nVidia combinations that make the splash screen go blank. I think you're using Mint, which is Ubuntu-based, so one of these might solve your issue too.

Cheers!
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
8,108
Reaction score
6,985
Credits
31,190
Yer a sad man, Paul ... fancy having lived in Bermuda and NOT loving fish.

Actually, regarding splash screen or not:

In all of my Distros, I go not.

In the Debian-based it is a simple matter of going into /etc/default/grub and changing the line which says "quiet splash" to "noquiet nosplash", then save and exit. Run

Code:
sudo update-grub

and then reboot.

That way, you get to see what is happening at startup, and troubleshoot errors and warnings.

Works with different families as well eg RPM, Arch, Gentoo &c. You may just have to use the full command after changing the grub file.

update-grub is a "stub" for

Code:
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

... and in the case of the RPMs eg Fedora, it may be

grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg

... note highlighting.

Works for me

avagudweegend all

Wiz
 

VP9KS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
786
Reaction score
762
Credits
1,526
Yer a sad man, Paul ... fancy having lived in Bermuda and NOT loving fish.

Actually, regarding splash screen or not:

In all of my Distros, I go not.

In the Debian-based it is a simple matter of going into /etc/default/grub and changing the line which says "quiet splash" to "noquiet nosplash", then save and exit. Run

Code:
sudo update-grub

and then reboot.

That way, you get to see what is happening at startup, and troubleshoot errors and warnings.

Works with different families as well eg RPM, Arch, Gentoo &c. You may just have to use the full command after changing the grub file.

update-grub is a "stub" for

Code:
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

... and in the case of the RPMs eg Fedora, it may be

grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg

... note highlighting.

Works for me

avagudweegend all

Wiz
 

VP9KS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
786
Reaction score
762
Credits
1,526
Well, When I was there I did like fish. It was only about 7 years ago that I came to my senses, nyuk, nyuk:cool:
 
OP
Condobloke

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
5,546
Reaction score
4,648
Credits
33,684
Sorry for the late reply...i didnt receive any emails about the replies received.......

Thanks Wiz......but no go.

I reboot after implementing the 'noquiet
zluq2b.jpg
nosplash', .....saving etc,,,,and running sudo update-grub.......

....and still get a longgg blank screen, until the speakers lights show sign of life...then the 'hdmi' signal/sign shows up on one monitor, and the other monitor turns itself on........10 seconds or so later I have desktops loaded on both monitors.

pic attached of the CHANGED grub folder...
 
OP
Condobloke

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
5,546
Reaction score
4,648
Credits
33,684
Last edited:

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,628
Reaction score
2,781
Credits
41
Any one know How To Remove a Malware Manually? Thanks

Hi @newbuster, and welcome! Please start your own thread with your question rather than asking on a thread that is totally unrelated. I'd recommend "General Linux" or "Getting Started" as appropriate forums. Thanks!
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation


Top