Which linux version is best ?

suvro998

Reaction score
Credits
I'm a newbie and Windows user. However, I'm planning to switch to one of the Linux version that is most user friendly. Can you suggest me the best ?

Hi @suvro998 For a new Linux user there are plenty of options as you may already know, however, I find Linux Lite to be a very friendly user distro and foolproof; it's been designed with Windows users in mind who are willing to make the switch to Linux just like you. Linux Lite's community is also a very friendly one, people there will help you as much as possible. Find out more here https://www.linuxliteos.com/forums/index.php Also, you might want to visit https://distrowatch.com/ take a look at distros reviews, user comments, download those that catch your attention and try them from a USB stick in live mode. You can use rufus for that purpose
that youtube tutorial is easy to follow. It might worth watching this video https://itsfoss.com/best-linux-beginners/

Hope this helps! :)

I'm a newbie and Windows user. However, I'm planning to switch to one of the Linux version that is most user friendly. Can you suggest me the best ?

You could take a look at distrowatch.com to get an overview of the many options. (see: https://distrowatch.com/, bottom of right panel, 'Page hit ranking')
Also, wikipedia has a good graphic of the evolution of the various distros: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux_distribution. This will give you and inkling of what to expect from a distro from what it was based on. For example, package management (see below).