Wayland gaming

lomszz

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
92
Reaction score
65
Credits
601
Okay now i have experienced myself wayland problems with Nvidia, desktop itself works good enough but games stutter so much.
If i could i would switch back AMD but graphics cards aren't free.:(

Thank god there is x11 and no problems anymore:D

Hopefully Wayland works better on future with Nvidia
 


Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
2,035
Reaction score
1,434
Credits
15,084
You can use Wayland with NVIDIA drivers. Here is how to do it

Edit the /etc/gdm/custom.conf file and comment out the line WaylandEnable=false, by putting a hashtag in front of it The correct file will then look something like this:
# GDM configuration storage
daemon]
# Uncomment the line below to force the login screen to use Xorg
# WaylandEnable=false

[security]

[xdmcp]

[chooser]

[debug]
# Uncomment the line below to turn on debugging
# Enable=true
 

EverythingeeB

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
7
Credits
47
Strangely enough, I have a laptop with AMD + NVIDIA graphics and games work pretty well for the most part. I'm talking Minecraft, Rocket League (a bit stuttery but usually stays over 90fps at max settings) and GTA IV (this one does stutter a lot but X11 doesn't fix it, it's a game issue)
 
OP
lomszz

lomszz

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
92
Reaction score
65
Credits
601
I couldn't get games work with wayland for now, idk where is problem :/. Will try to fix it when I have some free time, I bet there's something to do :D
 

BigBadBeef

Active Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
254
Reaction score
104
Credits
2,365
Hopefully Wayland works better on future with Nvidia
There is better news on the Horizon, AMD will work better than Nvidia. Agreed they aren't free, but neither is the time you wasted with the Wayland hassle.
 
OP
lomszz

lomszz

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
92
Reaction score
65
Credits
601
There is better news on the Horizon, AMD will work better than Nvidia. Agreed they aren't free, but neither is the time you wasted with the Wayland hassle.
Probably will buy amd gpu soon, sure now everything works but still amd is better with linux, need to sell and save to buy new :D
 

Anawilliam850

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2022
Messages
23
Reaction score
6
Credits
159
You can use Wayland with NVIDIA drivers. Here is how to do it

Edit the /etc/gdm/custom.conf file and comment out the line WaylandEnable=false, by putting a hashtag in front of it The correct file will then look something like this:
# GDM configuration storage
daemon]
# Uncomment the line below to force the login screen to use Xorg
# WaylandEnable=false

[security]

[xdmcp]

[chooser]

[debug]
# Uncomment the line below to turn on debugging
# Enable=true
I will tried this, because something similar happened to me
 

digitaltrails

Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2021
Messages
61
Reaction score
35
Credits
632
Maybe my CPU (Ryzen 5600), GPU (GTX 1650 Super 4GB), and RAM (16GB) are too puny, but I prefer to logout of my normal desktop and log back into an Openbox X11 session before gaming. This makes a noticeable difference to the game's performance (IL-2 BOX combat flight sim). Admittedly, my normal desktop is X11, but I think this would be true for Wayland too: that it's better to game in a minimal environment.
 
OP
lomszz

lomszz

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
92
Reaction score
65
Credits
601
Maybe my CPU (Ryzen 5600), GPU (GTX 1650 Super 4GB), and RAM (16GB) are too puny, but I prefer to logout of my normal desktop and log back into an Openbox X11 session before gaming. This makes a noticeable difference to the game's performance (IL-2 BOX combat flight sim). Admittedly, my normal desktop is X11, but I think this would be true for Wayland too: that it's better to game in a minimal environment.
I'm too lazy to always logout.
:D
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online


Latest posts

Top