VMWare Tools Install - Frustration with using Perl to install

dawnrunner

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Credits
30
Hi Guys,

I'm a bit of a noob with Linux, and would appreciate some help.

I've installed Android 9 on VMware, and have extracted VMware Tools, ready to install. I've also installed Perl, which was required (I believe) to execute the .pl installation script.

When I attempt to install using "Perl /mnt/tmp/vmware-install.pl" I get an error saying it can't find lsmod, and wants me to specify the directory to continue install.

I know lsmod lives at /sbin (which I can only access as a root user), however when I try and specify /sbin/lsmod or /sbin it says it's not a valid directory and needs the full name of the binary.

Do I need to specify something else in the path?

OR Is it possible that when executing Perl, it doesn't know that I'm root, so can't find the location?



Alternatively, could I resolve this by setting an environment variable for lsmod (path to the location?)

Thanks heaps.
 


Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
2,006
Reaction score
969
Credits
9,896
Hi Guys,

I'm a bit of a noob with Linux, and would appreciate some help.

I've installed Android 9 on VMware, and have extracted VMware Tools, ready to install. I've also installed Perl, which was required (I believe) to execute the .pl installation script.

When I attempt to install using "Perl /mnt/tmp/vmware-install.pl" I get an error saying it can't find lsmod, and wants me to specify the directory to continue install.

I know lsmod lives at /sbin (which I can only access as a root user), however when I try and specify /sbin/lsmod or /sbin it says it's not a valid directory and needs the full name of the binary.

Do I need to specify something else in the path?

OR Is it possible that when executing Perl, it doesn't know that I'm root, so can't find the location?



Alternatively, could I resolve this by setting an environment variable for lsmod (path to the location?)

Thanks heaps.
Where is your install.pl script?

Setting an environment variable for lsmod and it's exact PATH may help.
Try it. Worse case Bash will complain and give you an error:-

If it fails than you will have to become root cd to the full path to lsmod so that Bash can see it than run your script.

When you have time please show what the command-line is returning when you run the script.

Some binaries can be stored in more than one directory so it could get interesting to say the least.
Here's a link to finding the binaries with the grep cmd.

 

Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
2,006
Reaction score
969
Credits
9,896
Is Android 9 Android Studio?
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,910
Reaction score
2,647
Credits
28,251
Android is not comparable to a GNU/Linux distribution because it running a customized kernel and on top of the basic OS function it is mostly running java applications. Also my guess that is that vmware-install.pl intall script is meant for being run on your average GNU/Linux distribution, so you will most likely run into issues running it on Android.
 

Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
2,006
Reaction score
969
Credits
9,896
It looks like you need perl-android-apk


Command-line tools for Android:

 
OP
D

dawnrunner

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Credits
30
Where is your install.pl script?

Setting an environment variable for lsmod and it's exact PATH may help.
Try it. Worse case Bash will complain and give you an error:-

If it fails than you will have to become root cd to the full path to lsmod so that Bash can see it than run your script.

When you have time please show what the command-line is returning when you run the script.

Some binaries can be stored in more than one directory so it could get interesting to say the least.
Here's a link to finding the binaries with the grep cmd.


Thanks heaps for your reply. It's really helpful. Here is the initial error I was receiving (attached) - sorry I had to attach the file, as couldn't get cut/paste to work between VMWare and Windows.
 

Attachments

  • Perl error.png
    Perl error.png
    43.6 KB · Views: 32
OP
D

dawnrunner

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Credits
30
Interesti
Where is your install.pl script?

Setting an environment variable for lsmod and it's exact PATH may help.
Try it. Worse case Bash will complain and give you an error:-

If it fails than you will have to become root cd to the full path to lsmod so that Bash can see it than run your script.

When you have time please show what the command-line is returning when you run the script.

Some binaries can be stored in more than one directory so it could get interesting to say the least.
Here's a link to finding the binaries with the grep cmd.


Interestingly, at ~$ level I can run perl, but NOT access /sbin directory, but if I access su I can access /sbin but then perl is not found (attached)
 

Attachments

  • su.png
    su.png
    7.6 KB · Views: 30

Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
2,006
Reaction score
969
Credits
9,896
Thanks heaps for your reply. It's really helpful. Here is the initial error I was receiving (attached) - sorry I had to attach the file, as couldn't get cut/paste to work between VMWare and Windows.
It can't find lsmod.
Are you sure it's installed?

If your sure that lsmod is installed than specify the full path to where it's installed by hand.

Link to the script?

BTW, I'm not good with Windows.
I haven't ran Windows in 13 years:-

Getting A List of Active Kernel Drivers for Android
 
Last edited:

Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
2,006
Reaction score
969
Credits
9,896
IF you keep having trouble you may want to join the Android Forums.


I'm out of ideas, sorry--
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!


Top