Upgraded the forum software

stan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2018
Messages
974
Reaction score
1,104
Credits
9,041
@Rob, if I may... allow me to beat this dead horse (Search in Conversations) a little longer. ;)

From the main forum page, clicking on the Search button gives us this screen below to help us search. This is the Search screen provided in Conversations.
1a.png



If we navigate INTO A FORUM and click on the Search button, we get some options. "Everywhere" is the default, but I have selected "This forum" to show the example.
2a.png



If we further navigate INTO A THREAD, we get one more option to Search... in "This thread" as shown below.
3a.png



The "Advanced search..." button does not provide the options that I'm looking for.

So, my questions are...
1. Can this Search behavior be applied to Conversations as it is to the regular forums and threads?
2. Would searching "This thread" actually search the conversation? If yes, this would be a good solution.
3. If "This thread" is not appropriate, is there another setting available, such as "This conversation" that would work?

Thanks for considering this! I'm sure most users are not as interested in this capability as I am. :)
 


Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,751
Reaction score
3,360
Credits
18,476
One feature that would be helpful is being able to multi-quote other people. I wanted to do that yesterday in one thread, but trying to felt a bit confusing and cumbersome. If I remember correctly, I believe the official Mint forum has that feature.
@Rob, if I may... allow me to beat this dead horse (Search in Conversations) a little longer. ;)

From the main forum page, clicking on the Search button gives us this screen below to help us search. This is the Search screen provided in Conversations.
View attachment 10767


If we navigate INTO A FORUM and click on the Search button, we get some options. "Everywhere" is the default, but I have selected "This forum" to show the example.
View attachment 10768


If we further navigate INTO A THREAD, we get one more option to Search... in "This thread" as shown below.
View attachment 10769


The "Advanced search..." button does not provide the options that I'm looking for.

So, my questions are...
1. Can this Search behavior be applied to Conversations as it is to the regular forums and threads?
2. Would searching "This thread" actually search the conversation? If yes, this would be a good solution.
3. If "This thread" is not appropriate, is there another setting available, such as "This conversation" that would work?

Thanks for considering this! I'm sure most users are not as interested in this capability as I am. :)

Select the first conversation and click on reply which appears directly under the selected area

Then select the second and click on reply which is located out to the right hand side of the selected area
 

SpongebobFan1994

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
531
Reaction score
274
Credits
5,091
Select the first conversation and click on reply which appears directly under the selected area

Then select the second and click on reply which is located out to the right hand side of the selected area

Thanks. I'll try that next time.
 

stan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2018
Messages
974
Reaction score
1,104
Credits
9,041
One feature that would be helpful is being able to multi-quote
Select the first conversation
Then select the second
And you don't need to grab the entire post with the Reply button/link... you can click-and-drag with your mouse to highlight just a short bit of the text, like shown above, that is most pertinent to what you want to comment about... and a new "Reply" button will appear. You can do this repeatedly for multi-quote. And... if you click at the end of a bit of quote text and hit Enter (one or more times)... it will open up space for you to type comments in between each quote. (Or you can comment as you go, of course.)
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,751
Reaction score
3,360
Credits
18,476

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
6,627
Reaction score
5,391
Credits
19,641
Joking aside ... No.

Tables underlying a database can behave like nodes attached to a server in an office network.

In order to accommodate 30 users, you might need a server that handles 32 nodes.

If you need to put on a 33rd user, you need a new server for 32, to cater up until 64 users.

If you want 500, someone else will want 550 and someone 600. The limit can stay where it is for the time being. Work with it.

BTW people who have posted do not need their post quoted back at them, they already know what they said. If you want to be clear about what you are replying to quote short snatches such as Brian and Stan described above.

Nice teamwork Brian and Stan.

Wizard
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,751
Reaction score
3,360
Credits
18,476
;)
 

brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,252
Reaction score
957
Credits
9,448
And you don't need to grab the entire post with the Reply button
Quite agree, I try and grab just enough so that the poster I am replying to knows what I am referring to, especially if say a full inxi report is given and I spot a problem with the GPU, I just grab that section to reply to
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online


Top