upgrade installation problem

quasar19

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Credits
0
I have been trying install the upgrade for the last couple of weeks and all

attempts end with this message-
Installation of akonadi-mime-18.12.3-1.2.x86_64 failed:
Error: Subprocess failed. Error: RPM failed: error: can't create transaction lock on /var/lib/rpm/.rpm.lock (Read-only file system)
If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
 


TechnoJunky

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
493
Reaction score
390
Credits
314
You haven't given much information, so I have to make some assumptions. The Error message says RPM failed, so that tells me that we're talking about Fedora. The the current version of Fedora is F29, so I'll have to assume that you want to upgrade to F29. If this is the case, then these are the commands you should be running:
sudo -i
dnf --refresh upgrade
dnf install dnf-plugin-system-upgrade --best
dnf system-upgrade download --releasever=29
dnf system-upgrade reboot

Just for the record, using sudo -i, puts you in sudo mode till you do a control d to exit. This allows all the commands afterwards to be run as sudo without having to type sudo before each one. Very similar to SU.
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,193
Reaction score
6,088
Credits
24,102
G'day @quasar19 and welcome to linux.org :)

  1. What Linux Distribution (distro) are you using, including version number or name?
  2. I have been trying install the upgrade for the last couple of weeks and all

    attempts end with this message-
  3. What was the exact command/s that generated this error?

Cheers

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz
 
OP
Q

quasar19

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Credits
0
G'day @quasar19 and welcome to linux.org :)

  1. What Linux Distribution (distro) are you using, including version number or name?
  2. What was the exact command/s that generated this error?

Cheers

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz
Thanks for responding. I am quite new -trying to learn as quickly as possible.

The command was zypper dup- my version is Kernel 5.0.2-1
 
OP
Q

quasar19

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Credits
0
try it with sudo
Thanks for responding. I am quite new -trying to learn as quickly as possible.

The command was zypper dup- my version is Kernel 5.0.2-1
Linux O/S. If you need any more info let me know.
Thanks
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,193
Reaction score
6,088
Credits
24,102
The Error message says RPM failed, so that tells me that we're talking about Fedora

Not so fast, TJ :)

rpm is used by many Distros, including RHEL (Red Hat Enterprise Linux), Fedora, centOS, openMandriva, Mageia, just to name a few.

The RHEL-based ones are the main ones to use dnf (since yum is being deprecated), but openSUSE uses zypper, Mageia urpmi, &c.

@quasar19 - don't put "Linux O/S", looks like OS for Operating System.

You are using openSUSE, question is whether you are using its point release, called openSUSE Leap, or its rolling release, called openSUSE Tumbleweed.

Does either of those ring a bell?

If you are using Tumbleweed, there is no need to upgrade, it is a rolling release.

If you are using Leap, then it could be a Repository problem, we can look at that later.

Are you performing these commands as regular user or Root?

If Root, you likely used

Code:
sudo su

to become root, and following that you will have a # included at the prompt.

The indication of a lock file as being a problem is often an indication that you are trying to perform an update/upgrade operation in Terminal at the same time as a GUI-based updater is trying to notify you of updates/upgrades and/or is running in the background. In your case, this could be YaST.

Have a read of this article

https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:System_upgrade

... see if it makes sense (ignore the stuff at 3. - if you do not know what btrfs is you are not using it)

I'll be back tomorrow Oz time with more

Cheers all

Wizard
 

TechnoJunky

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
493
Reaction score
390
Credits
314
Hey there Wiz, my crystal ball only works so well, which is why I preceded everything with "so I have to make some assumptions". Now if I were a great wizard, maybe my crystal ball would work better :).
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,193
Reaction score
6,088
Credits
24,102

TechnoJunky

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
493
Reaction score
390
Credits
314
Linn.nay77, it doesn't matter how old a thread is, this is called hijacking someone's thread. It doesn't matter if you're here or at any other forum, you shouldn't jump into an existing thread and start explaining your issues, unless the thread is about a bug and you're saying you have the bug too. In this case you aren't joining in on a bug report, you have a technical problem. Joining in on someone else's technical problem makes helping you and the other person extremely difficult because we have to ask you questions and Quasar19 questions and we need to ensure you don't get your questions mixed up with his questions and we need to make sure we don't get your answers mixed up with his answers and then trying to look back and remember what you did before and keeping it separate from what he did before, ugh it's just a PITA all around. So you HAVE to start your own threads for your own issues and that way no wires get crossed in trying to help you.
 

linn.nay77

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
5
Credits
0
Linn.nay77, it doesn't matter how old a thread is, this is called hijacking someone's thread. It doesn't matter if you're here or at any other forum, you shouldn't jump into an existing thread and start explaining your issues, unless the thread is about a bug and you're saying you have the bug too. In this case you aren't joining in on a bug report, you have a technical problem. Joining in on someone else's technical problem makes helping you and the other person extremely difficult because we have to ask you questions and Quasar19 questions and we need to ensure you don't get your questions mixed up with his questions and we need to make sure we don't get your answers mixed up with his answers and then trying to look back and remember what you did before and keeping it separate from what he did before, ugh it's just a PITA all around. So you HAVE to start your own threads for your own issues and that way no wires get crossed in trying to help you.
Please accept my apologies,sure I will open new thread.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online


Top