Up arrow key scrolls through past terminal entries Help?

kevinrf

Reaction score
Credits
Don't know if this is distro specific (this pc has Mint 20.3 MATE). When in terminal and I hit the up or down arrow, it scrolls through all of my previous entries rather than moving the cursor up or down the page. Outside of be being annoying, it is a security nightmare. How do I fix this issue? Specifically, getting the arrow keys to only move the cursor. Thanks for any help.

kevinrf

You need to disable bash history.

Code:
echo 'set +o history' >> ~/.bashrc
. ~/.bashrc

That'll disable it for your user.

Edit:

Also, clean existing history with:

Code:
history -c

Each individual user has their own history.
No one can see another person's history.
(well, unless you su to that user)

When I type
echo 'set +o history' >> ~/.bashrc
. ~/.bashrc

the up arrow still scrolled through history.

I am a noob, but learning it. I have a basic understanding of .bashrc and how to use it to enter aliases, but I think I am not entering your code correctly.

Did you follow the bit about deleting your history?

And, as @dos2unix said, it's not really a problem. Only you (and root) can see your .bash_history. It also doesn't contain any sensitive data, like passwords.

But, you add the bit between the quotes (no quotes) to ./bashrc and remove the existing history - and it *should* stop storing your history. You may want to try 'source ~/.bashrc' (no quotes) instead of the line with the . starting it.

kevinrf wrote:
When in terminal and I hit the up or down arrow, it scrolls through all of my previous entries rather than moving the cursor up or down the page. Outside of be being annoying, it is a security nightmare.