Unable to unmount usb drives in Nautilus

hcac

Reaction score
Credits
It says authentication is required for unmounting because /dev/sdb1 is mounted by another user.
Then when I enter my password, it says error unmounting: /dev/sdb1 is not mounted. (but I check and it's still there)

I don't understand how the mounting works in gnome and so don:t know how to fix this. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Hi @hcac, and welcome to the site. Is this a new installation of gnome? Was it ever working correctly? Can you think of any new app you installed, or any other recent activity that might have caused this behavior?

Cheers

Thank you!
I'm using Kali linux and I regularly update the packages.
I've been using the root account for a couple of months and all was right until I decided to move to a normal admin user.

Now, I know Kali's not exactly appropriate for Desktop use, but it'd be painful to re install as I'll have to reconfigure all my stuff.
But yeah, everything started since I moved to an admin user.

Now, I know Kali's not exactly appropriate for Desktop use...

Ah, you've heard the lecture before. It is still true... it is a very poor choice for new users especially. But I won't nag you forever about it.... it's your computer, your choice.

Let's clear up some lingo. I admit right off the bat that I know little about Kali. Does Kali use the term "normal admin user?" Terms I know are: Admin user = root. Normal user = normal user, or regular user. So, I take it you created a regular user?

It's been my understanding (maybe wrongly) that Kali is designed to be run as root, and you ran it as root initially, without problems. Where I'm going with all this is that maybe your trouble with USB drives is only the tip of the iceberg, and other troubles may soon present themselves. (Or not... I'm not psychic.) You might consider this possibility though, if you haven't already.

So, some possible solutions....

1. Delete the regular user and use root again.