"Unable to create PID file" - Facing problems to Install a distro Linux to Hard Drive.

Cauã A. E. Santo

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
7
Credits
209
Now that I am finally able to run the distro on my machine, I simply cannot install it on its hard drive.
First I could create some partitions to install Fedora but it crashed and a alert message is shown on screen: "Anaconda is unable to create /var/run/ anaconda.pid because the file already exists. Anaconda is already running, or a previous instance of anaconda has crashed."

I'm able to open the "Install to Hard Drive" after a while. I think that I am not making the partitions correctly. Can somebody help me out?
 


kc1di

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
867
Credits
7,330
how are you trying to make the partitions? Normally you would just run the installer and do the partitions from there.
 
OP
C

Cauã A. E. Santo

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
7
Credits
209
how are you trying to make the partitions? Normally you would just run the installer and do the partitions from there.
After running the installer, I make three partitions:
/home (about 100 GiB), /boot/efi (about 600 MiB), and / (the root; about 7 GiB). Then I begin the installation but it always freezes then crashes.
I did this process several times.
Maybe it's useful to say that I have a unknown and a previous Fedora distribution with many partitions that I frequently need to delete. And I can't delete all partitions from the unknown part because the computer tells me that it may corrupt another distro from my computer. But it is not my intention to keep a second Operational System on my machine. Should I delete all files from unknown?
 
Last edited:

kc1di

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
867
Credits
7,330
After running the installer, I make three partitions:
/home (about 100 GiB), /boot/efi (about 600 MiB), and / (the root; about 7 GiB). Then I begin the installation but it always freezes then crashes.
You need a bigger /root partition say about 20 or 30 Gib's. It will fill up fast at 7 gibs.
 
OP
C

Cauã A. E. Santo

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
7
Credits
209
You need a bigger /root partition say about 20 or 30 Gib's. It will fill up fast at 7 gibs.

You need a bigger /root partition say about 20 or 30 Gib's. It will fill up fast at 7 gibs.
I tried your recommendation and the system didn't crash. Nevertheless, I got an unknown error this time. Do you have any other suggestion? Maybe should I try some advanced custom (Blivet-GUI)?
 

kc1di

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
867
Credits
7,330
What was the error? and which version of Linux are trying to install?
 
OP
C

Cauã A. E. Santo

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
7
Credits
209
What was the error? and which version of Linux are trying to install?
What was the error? and which version of Linux are trying to install?
The error is unknown to the computer, and it leads to an error report, which I couldn't finish due the a need of an account that I haven't at that time.
The Linux version is Fedora 36.
 

kc1di

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
867
Credits
7,330
Give us a run down on your computer if you can boot to the live session go to a terminal and issue this command
and copy and past the results here.
Code:
inxi -Fxxxzr
 
OP
C

Cauã A. E. Santo

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
7
Credits
209
Give us a run down on your computer if you can boot to the live session go to a terminal and issue this command
and copy and past the results here.
Code:
inxi -Fxxxzr
Unfortunately, I used that but the result to this command was simply "bash: inxi: Command not found..."
 

kc1di

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
867
Credits
7,330
Unfortunately, I used that but the result to this command was simply "bash: inxi: Command not found..."
You will have to install it go to a terminal in the live session and type
Code:
sudo dnf install inxi

Then run the command again.
 
OP
C

Cauã A. E. Santo

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
7
Credits
209
You will have to install it go to a terminal in the live session and type
Code:
sudo dnf install inxi

Then run the command again.
Thank you! Now I get it.
Here are the results>


System:
Kernel: 5.17.5-300.fc36.x86_64 arch: x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc
v: 2.37-24.fc36 Desktop: GNOME v: 42.0 tk: GTK v: 3.24.31 wm: gnome-shell
dm: GDM v: 42.0 Distro: Fedora release 36 (Thirty Six)
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: Compaq product: Compaq Presario CQ-25 v: N/A
serial: <superuser required> Chassis: type: 10 serial: <superuser required>
Mobo: Compaq model: Compaq Presario CQ-25 v: Type2 - Board Version
serial: <superuser required> UEFI: INSYDE v: E117C.Compaq.A005
date: 05/25/2016
Battery:
ID-1: BAT1 charge: 25.0 Wh (71.0%) condition: 35.2/35.2 Wh (100.0%)
volts: 8.7 min: 8.8 model: LG Harris Beach type: Li-ion serial: <filter>
status: charging cycles: 40
CPU:
Info: quad core model: Intel Pentium N3700 bits: 64 type: MCP
smt: <unsupported> arch: Airmont rev: 3 cache: L1: 224 KiB L2: 2 MiB
Speed (MHz): avg: 576 high: 705 min/max: 480/2400 cores: 1: 640 2: 705
3: 480 4: 480 bogomips: 12800
Flags: ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx
Graphics:
Device-1: Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx
Integrated Graphics
driver: i915 v: kernel ports: active: eDP-1
empty: DP-1, DP-2, HDMI-A-1, HDMI-A-2 bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:22b1
class-ID: 0300
Device-2: Realtek USB Camera type: USB driver: uvcvideo bus-ID: 1-1:2
chip-ID: 0bda:5801 class-ID: 0e02 serial: <filter>
Display: wayland server: X.org v: 1.20.14 with: Xwayland v: 22.1.1
compositor: gnome-shell driver: gpu: i915 display-ID: 0
Monitor-1: eDP-1 model-id: SLD 0x003c res: 1366x768 dpi: 112
size: 309x173mm (12.17x6.81") diag: 354mm (13.9") modes: 1366x768
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa Intel HD Graphics 405 (BSW) v: 4.6 Mesa 22.0.1
compat-v: 3.1 direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series
High Definition Audio
vendor: Realtek driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
chip-ID: 8086:2284 class-ID: 0403
Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.17.5-300.fc36.x86_64 running: yes
Sound Server-2: PipeWire v: 0.3.49 running: yes
Network:
Message: No device data found.
IF-ID-1: wlp0s20u5i2 state: up mac: <filter>
Bluetooth:
Device-1: Realtek RTL8723BU 802.11b/g/n WLAN Adapter type: USB
driver: btusb,rtl8xxxu bus-ID: 1-5:6 chip-ID: 0bda:b720 class-ID: e001
serial: <filter>
Report: rfkill ID: hci0 rfk-id: 3 state: up address: see --recommends
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 115.4 GiB used: 5.46 GiB (4.7%)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: SSD size: 111.79 GiB speed: 3.0 Gb/s type: SSD
serial: <filter> rev: 2A0 temp: 42 C scheme: GPT
ID-2: /dev/sdb type: USB model: USB DISK 2.0 size: 3.61 GiB type: N/A
serial: <filter> rev: DL20 scheme: MBR
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 7.36 GiB used: 5.46 GiB (74.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
mapped: live-rw
Swap:
ID-1: swap-1 type: zram size: 3.66 GiB used: 8.2 MiB (0.2%) priority: 100
dev: /dev/zram0
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 51.0 C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Repos:
Packages: N/A note: see --pkg
No active dnf repos in: /etc/dnf/dnf.conf
No active yum repos in: /etc/yum.repos.d/_copr_phracek-PyCharm.repo
Active yum repos in: /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-cisco-openh264.repo
1: fedora-cisco-openh264 ~ https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-cisco-openh264-$releasever&arch=$basearch
Active yum repos in: /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-modular.repo
1: fedora-modular ~ https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-modular-$releasever&arch=$basearch
Active yum repos in: /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-updates-modular.repo
1: updates-modular ~ https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-released-modular-f$releasever&arch=$basearch
No active yum repos in: /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-updates-testing-modular.repo
No active yum repos in: /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-updates-testing.repo
Active yum repos in: /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-updates.repo
1: updates ~ https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-released-f$releasever&arch=$basearch
Active yum repos in: /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora.repo
1: fedora ~ https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-$releasever&arch=$basearch
No active yum repos in: /etc/yum.repos.d/google-chrome.repo
No active yum repos in: /etc/yum.repos.d/rpmfusion-nonfree-nvidia-driver.repo
No active yum repos in: /etc/yum.repos.d/rpmfusion-nonfree-steam.repo
Info:
Processes: 234 Uptime: 59m wakeups: 4 Memory: 3.66 GiB
used: 1.69 GiB (46.3%) Init: systemd v: 250 runlevel: 5
target: graphical.target Compilers: gcc: 12.0.1 Shell: Bash v: 5.1.16
running-in: gnome-terminal inxi: 3.3.16


Awaiting for your guidance!
 
Last edited:

kc1di

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
867
Credits
7,330
Sorry for the delay in response had to be away yesterday.
Nothing particularly sticks out in your hardware that would be causing the problem except perhaps the graphic card I'm not sure that Wayland which is the Desktop manager for Fedora will work with an Atom card. But don't have enough experience with them to be sure. I think if it's possible I would try a different Distro one that is not using wayland and see if it works for you.
Again I'm not sure that's the problem but it's worth a try. Maybe some one with Fedora experience will come along that can help further.
Also another thing that could be problematic is make sure the secure boot and fast boot are turned off in bios.
 

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
1,757
Reaction score
1,175
Credits
13,083
looks to me you are missing a swap partition if you are running UEFI, basically for fedora should be about double the amount of ram you have
For the EFI mode, generally need to create four different partitions: I am only seeing 3 from first post
efi (UEFI bootloader)
/ (Linux system)
/home (personal user data)
swap (temporary storage)
 
OP
C

Cauã A. E. Santo

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
7
Credits
209
Thank you guys for all your support! I finally did it!
After many tries and fails, I could install Fedora 36. I passed the past 5 days searching for a solution to my problem and coming here to this forum looking for help, and it was worth it. I learned a lot about linux and how a computer works, what are partitions and their functionalities, what is the grub, and a bunch of other things.
All that I truly needed to do was to erase the previous data from my Hard Drive. I noticed it when I was creating some partitions for the installation, and because the installation process always crashed in "configuring storage". I thouth that, somehow, the problem was in old files, it was also a clue that I also got from exploring the grub rescue functionalities, still there, which, indeed, was correct.. Always that I went through the installation process, all files that hypothetically were deleted continue appearing as before. So I went to the "Files" and then to my flash drive. There I could see all my files from the Drive and delete them permanently. Some remain of an old distro (Fedora 35) was interfering the executing of the new filesystem. After that, I could install everything well.
 

Belalashraf

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2022
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Credits
6
Thank you guys for all your support! I finally did it!
After many tries and fails, I could install Fedora 36. I passed the past 5 days searching for a solution to my problem and coming here to this forum looking for help, and it was worth it. I learned a lot about linux and how a computer works, what are partitions and their functionalities, what is the grub, and a bunch of other things.
All that I truly needed to do was to erase the previous data from my Hard Drive. I noticed it when I was creating some partitions for the installation, and because the installation process always crashed in "configuring storage". I thouth that, somehow, the problem was in old files, it was also a clue that I also got from exploring the grub rescue functionalities, still there, which, indeed, was correct.. Always that I went through the installation process, all files that hypothetically were deleted continue appearing as before. So I went to the "Files" and then to my flash drive. There I could see all my files from the Drive and delete them permanently. Some remain of an old distro (Fedora 35) was interfering the executing of the new filesystem. After that, I could install everything well.
Please can you tell me Hou you fix this error because I can't find any solution
Thank you guys for all your support! I finally did it!
After many tries and fails, I could install Fedora 36. I passed the past 5 days searching for a solution to my problem and coming here to this forum looking for help, and it was worth it. I learned a lot about linux and how a computer works, what are partitions and their functionalities, what is the grub, and a bunch of other things.
All that I truly needed to do was to erase the previous data from my Hard Drive. I noticed it when I was creating some partitions for the installation, and because the installation process always crashed in "configuring storage". I thouth that, somehow, the problem was in old files, it was also a clue that I also got from exploring the grub rescue functionalities, still there, which, indeed, was correct.. Always that I went through the installation process, all files that hypothetically were deleted continue appearing as before. So I went to the "Files" and then to my flash drive. There I could see all my files from the Drive and delete them permanently. Some remain of an old distro (Fedora 35) was interfering the executing of the new filesystem. After that, I could install everything well.
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,634
Reaction score
4,024
Credits
26,242
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online


Top