Ubuntu Desktop Resetting Every Reboot

siriussteve

Reaction score
Credits
Hi,

I am new to UBUNTU / Linux and having two strange issues when using the desktop version for ubuntu...

One issue is similar to the accepted solution to https://www.linux.org/threads/desktop-settings-reset-every-login-or-restart-solved.33127/

Except... I don't seem to have the files in the /etc/skel/ directory

"it's empty".

I am using Ubuntu 18.04. LTS. Here is my df -h

udev 1.8G 0 1.8G 0% /dev
tmpfs 2.0G 1.3G 767M 62% /run
/dev/sda1 20G 5.6G 14G 29% /
tmpfs 1.8G 342M 1.5G 19% /dev/shm
tmpfs 5.0M 0 5.0M 0% /run/lock
tmpfs 800M 0 800M 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/loop0 56M 56M 0 100% /snap/core18/2409
/dev/loop1 299M 299M 0 100% /snap/snapd/46
/dev/loop2 47M 47M 0 100% /snap/snapd/16292
/dev/loop3 47M 47M 0 100% /snap/snapd/16010
/dev/loop4 299M 299M 0 100% /snap/snapd/48
/dev/sda15 105M 4.4M 100M 5% /boot/efi
tmpfs 368M 16K 368M 1% /run/user/1001

I believe it has something to do with memory? But I am completely lost here and trying to move from windows to ubuntu...

Can anybody please explain how I can keep my settings for sessions when I reboot? I have tried a lot of things and was going to try a symbolic link for the files on the desktop? (after I find them HA!)

I am using both ubuntu desktop and xrdp, using these commands:

sudo apt install lubuntu-desktop

sudo apt install xrdp

I have also tried: sudo apt install ubuntu-desktop and run into the same issues...

This issue might be tied in with some memory issue that after a week or so my computer is randomly rebooting and causing everything to be lost. I have tried to mess with the /run size (there is 4 GB in RAM). It seem to be "ok" most of the time when I check it, but them it's not.

Thank you for any help!

Can you provide output from the following commands? They will provide info about your hard drive space and memory.
Code:
ls -la /etc/skel
Code:
free -h
Code:
df -h