Ubuntu 18.04.2 Dual Boot Windows 10 failure

George H.

Reaction score
Credits
I installed Ubuntu 18.04.2 via USB stick after making room on my C:/ drive. I can only access Ubuntu by disabling Legacy+UEFI setting in BIOS and booting Ubuntu from the USB drive I installed it on. Is there any way I can use the current Ubuntu installation? I am very new to Linux and could use a bit of guidance. I have been wanting to ease into Linux but need to keep Win10. Any ideas?

G'day @George H. and welcome to linux.org :)

Can you give us the brand name and model number of your computer, or the specs if you have them?

Cheers

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz

MSI x470 Gaming Pro, AMD 1700x, GTX 970, 16gig Corsair 3000 mem. Have Win10 1809 on it now. Been wanting to learn Linux (it IS the future methinks) and saw I could be able to have my cake and eat it too....not. When it installs and asks for reboot and removal of install medium in order to do so, it just boots straight to windows 10. No Grubby menu, just same post and Windows boot. Am I missing a step covered in all the posts and TubeYou videos I watched on the subject?

(it IS the future methinks)

Thanks George, we thinks so too :)

I have to head off for my evening in Australia (we are a global village), so if someone else comes along in the meantime, go with their ideas.

Make sure you have a contingency/recovery plan in place for your Windozer and personal data (fail to plan, plan to fail) in case anything heads south for the winter.

Hopefully we have your back.

I'll swing by tomorrow

Cheers

Wizard

Maybe it is just my impatience, (wow...at my age?) but there doesn't seem to be "peeps" (the kids still say that now don't they?) willing to chat about it except you. I will go watch my latest episode of Matlock or Andy Griffith and check back later.