Thinkpad T500 Power management

D

Dave67

I would like to throw this out there to get advice. My laptop is fine I am new to the power management on laptops. I was following a post of a member of the kubuntu forum I think he was the administrator of the forum. Right now the forum is down due to migration to another server or host. This went the way it did because I want to install thinkfan which I did as part of the post. Steve had this as a line in the grub. I tried the below command and watched the temps with thinkfan via shell. I found that after a few days of testing this the laptop got hotter not cooler. Not to hot but I felt that it was better than without the modifications so I took out the line. I was wondering if twinkling the settings could improve the cooling.

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="acpi_osi=Linux pcie_aspm=force i915.i915_enable_rc6=1 i915.i915_enable_fbc=1 i915.lvds_downclock=1"

This grub line now is

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="no splash"

Currently my temps are without mod below. I did notice that the fan was much slower with the modification code above but the HDD was hotter. I could feel it under the keyboard. I have to post on a PDF files if you would like to see the post since Kubuntu is still down I am using kubuntu 14.04.

thinkpad-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
fan1: 2605 RPM
temp1: +98.6°F
temp2: +98.6°F
temp3: +87.8°F HDD right this minute 93.6 playing music amaok
temp5: +78.8°F
temp7: +78.8°F
temp9: +93.2°F
temp10: +102.2°F
temp11: +96.8°F

thanks

*Note: Those temperatures are normal. My Sandybridge i5 generally runs slightly hotter than your Core 2 Duo.

looking at the individual parameters:
Code:
acpi_os=linux
Modify list of supported OS interface strings
I don't think this parameter will really do anything.

Code:
pcie_aspm=force
Forcibly enable or disable PCIe Active State Power
This option maybe useful.

Code:
i915.i915_enable_rc6
This option can put the Intel graphics in a lower power state but may cause GPU hangs.

Code: