The whole process.....

zugzwang_baby

Reaction score
Credits
Okay, I am very new at all this Linux stuff. I am actually going to college for Cybersecurity but thats beside the point because I am not very good at all this. I have a Dell chromebook that was running Windows10. I performed an update on it and when it restarted it came up to this Other Users account. well I ended up not being able to login to my account. So I tried to make a bootable Linux USB (it took me 4 days to do). I got the laptop booted in Linux but now that I am trying to install it on my hard drive, it always ends up coming to errors. could someone please tell me step by step how to do it. i will put all the error codes i got. Error: The repository 'cdrom://Linus Mint 21 _Vanessa_ - Release amd64 20220726 jammy release' does not have a release file

You will have to disable windows quick start in the BIOS also secure boot and re-start before you try installing Linux
see my signature.. How do i install Linux

Chrome books can be very difficult to install Linux on depending on the hardware and disc size. Several questions arise when you say it took you 4 days to burn an ISO image of Mint. Where did you download the Mint image and what burning tool did you use? How big is the Hd in that machine. you will need at least 30 Gbs for good operation.

Well for starters I should have been blonde because I have no common sense so bare with me. I used LinuxUSBcreator and got the image from Linux Mint website. I was locked out of my chromebook so I had to use the dinosaur to make the USB which is probably why it took so long. The specs for my chromebook and the dinosaur are below. Btw I really need my chromebook to be operable because its how I attended school.
Dell chromebook:
Processor 2.6 GHz
16 GB storage, 4GB memory (also have a snow bell USB with 32 GB available)
Resolution 1366 x 768

HP Pavilion from 2000
1.8 GHz
256MB RAM 40GB
Win98se