The most basic of linux

far2close

Reaction score
Credits
Hey guys, I need a linux build for an old laptop, I want the internet off, and just access to spreadsheets and a word processor (something with the same functionality as openoffice writer and calc) it also needs to still be able to use our epsom printer? Is all of this possible and which distro is best? (never used linux as a main OS before so complete noob here) Thanks guys :D

Is it Bad when the distro has Internet acces?

Of Not I would say the most distros with a Light Desktop will be finde. Like Ubuntu mate,lubuntuor Linux mint.

I just meant I dont care if it wasnt the most secure distro, but thanks dude ill check those ones out :)

If you dont wish it to access the internet....simply turn off its access from within the operating system. Easy to do.

Yeah I was going to turn it off, I just meant I don't want any resource wasting bloat, like Windows defender etc

[Hey guys, I need a linux build for an old laptop, I want the internet off, and just access to spreadsheets and a word processor (something with the same functionality as openoffice writer and calc) it also needs to still be able to use our epsom printer? Is all of this possible and which distro is best?]

What specs does the laptop have ?..
Brand & model, etc

Others here will chime in and help with a suitable distro for it

Bloat is not a problem.......windows defender type crap really does not happen in Linux.

You may wish to turn the internet on for a short time in order to update the OS, before turning it off again. At least that way you will have the latest open office or libre office or whatever you need.

Those who suggest any particular distro should also bear in mind your Epson Printer

I am not familiar with them but someone here will know of them

We can give you a guide to download whatever distro you settle on....to a usb....and then boot the laptop to that usb and try the distro out before you actually install it.