Tcsh : No entry for terminal type “network”

chan

Reaction score
Credits
Hello Guys,

The serial ports in my PC is used to communicate with the other equipment.
Now it seems that Serial port lost has been occurred in Lynx OS
Please be aware that i have no idea, experience about Lynx OS

Following is what i have tried to find a problem....
Checked the cable connection => no problem.
swapped the board => still no work
Bios setting => serial port selected.

When I logged in Lynx, The messages below were shown.
Tcsh : using dumb terminal setting

I tried some command which Linux manual suggest but most of commands didn’t work so I couldn’t go further
If you guys know how to set the serial port or restore it, Please let me know.

[OS information]

OS version : Lynx 3.1.0a
FCS version : 071000-F

I'm not familiar with Lynx OS - but a quick bit of duckduckgo-fu shows me that it is a proprietary, Linux-based RTOS. Version 3 must be quite old too. Even the current version (V7) is 4 years old.....
Other than that, I can find very little information about it. Not sure that anybody else here will have much of an idea......

From looking at the error messages, it looks like it has something to do with the TERMINFO/TERMCAP database. So at a guess, it's either a termcap related environment variable is misconfigured/missing, or something is wrong in your .tcshrc file (or in one of your other config files). Or perhaps the the terminfo database itself is missing/corrupt.

Also, it's kinda hard to recommend a course of action when we don't know exactly what things you have already tried.

At a guess, you could try adding the following to your .tcshrc:
Code:
setenv TERM xterm
NOTE: Replace xterm with the name of the terminal you actually use - e.g. rxvt, stterm etc.

Failing that, what is the output of the env command? And what is the content of your .tcshrc?

Otherwise, all I can do for now is redirect you here:
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Text-Terminal-HOWTO-16.html