[SWITCHING TO DEBIAN] Sound and video unsynced in Kali Linux virtualbox

kamra0000

Reaction score
Credits
My sound and video are unsynced when I play videos in a browser in virtualbox. this does not seem to be a browser issue because I tried to play a video on 2 different browsers and I got the same result. Please help

I am also new to kali linux so any help is appreciated

Last edited:

What are the specs of the host machine, and how much virtual hardware have you dedicated to the guest? What's the video memory set at?

Recommendation #1. Use your physical host machine to watch multimedia instead of a virtual machine.
Recommendation #2. Kali Linux is a cybersecurity tool rather than a "standard end-user desktop OS". While it can be used as a normal desktop OS, expect to come across a lot more impediments in attempting to use it as such.

What are the specs of the host machine, and how much virtual hardware have you dedicated to the guest? What's the video memory set at?
I have Microsoft Windows Home
Version 10.0.19043 Build 19043
System Model HP Laptop 14-fq0xxx
64 bit
Processor AMD Athlon Silver 3050U with Radeon Graphics, 2300 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
I gave the virtual machine 1.731 gb of base memory and the video memory at 128 mb.

Recommendation #1. Use your physical host machine to watch multimedia instead of a virtual machine.
Recommendation #2. Kali Linux is a cybersecurity tool rather than a "standard end-user desktop OS". While it can be used as a normal desktop OS, expect to come across a lot more impediments in attempting to use it as such.
I am taking ethical hacking courses and it really makes more sense to have the media playing inside the machine instead of in the host because I don't want to switch programs all the time. And doing split screen is also not good for me because I won't have a good desktop layout.