Superuser privileges

newtolinux

Reaction score
Credits
How do you get superuser privileges in Linux? I have updates that I can't download and install because I don't have superuser privileges. One download asks me to manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem. I type it into terminal and it says I don't have superuser privileges. What can I do to correct the problem?

dpkg hints at Debian/Buntu related so is it not sudo everything ?

Ummm, never mind. I just ran the updates again, and they downloaded and installed with no problem. I don't know what I did but the updates installed. I'm still new to Linux and haven't really played around with it much to know the ins and outs of it without destroying everything I have set up or having to re-install it. :)

what distro are you using ? See if you have Timeshift , a lot on here swear by it. I don't have that option so have to be extra cautious with mine.

what distro are you using ? See if you have Timeshift , a lot on here swear by it. I don't have that option so have to be extra cautious with mine.
Mint 20. And I do have Timeshift installed. As I said in my earlier post, I ran the updates again and they installed with no problems. Oh well, as long as everything works, I ain't messing with it. LOL

Just for grins, and not to stomp on anyone else's advice, with Mint (as well as all the *buntu distro), updates are easy on the CLI by running:
Code:
sudo apt update
     followed by
sudo apt full-upgrade

Hi guys! I'm getting the same message again when I try to install updates: manually run 'dpkg --configure -a'. What am I doing wrong? I have superuser privileges because that was the message I got with the prior update message telling me I need those privileges.

@newtolinux - just to be clear again... did you enter

Code:
dpkg --configure -a

OR

sudo dpkg --configure -a
?

It should be the latter.

Wiz