[SOLVED] AMD 5700g screen flashes black for a second

Josemarialanda

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
113
I've been experiencing some CPU instability. (I think)

Every once in a while my screen turns black for a second. I found out I can force this behaviour by running mprime. Firstly, mprime gets stuck at test 1 and shortly after the screen starts flashing black every 30 seconds or so.

This doesn't happen when I stress the CPU with stress-ng tho.

I can play games just fine for hours with no problem. It seems very random.

One more thing I noticed is that setting the curve optimizer in pbo 2 (BIOS) to negative 15 (or any number slightly higher) results in not just a black screen for a second but a complete system crash.

My specs are:

AMD Ryzen 5700G
Fatal1ty B450 Gaming-ITX/ac (BIOS 4.60)
Corsair vengeance CL16 3600 mhz
PNY 500 GB NVME M.2

I ran memtest86 (free edition) for about 5 hours (4 tests) and NO errors.

I've tested the NVME drive and it's also fine.

The motherboard worked fine on a cheaper CPU (Athlon 3000g)

Also. I experienced the same problem on another motherboard. Gigabyte A520i AC.

Could this be a BIOS issue or a kernel bug?


Also. I can't set the refresh rate to anything higher than 60 without causing a black screen. (This happens with multiple motherboards)
 


brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,253
Reaction score
957
Credits
9,458
can you run inxi -G [inxi[space]-G in a terminal and paste the results here?
 
OP
J

Josemarialanda

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
113
can you run inxi -G [inxi[space]-G in a terminal and paste the results here?

Here you go

[[email protected]:~]$ inxi -G

Graphics: Message: No device data found.
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.11 driver: loaded: N/A resolution: 2560x1080~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: AMD RENOIR (DRM 3.42.0 5.14.8 LLVM 11.1.0) v: 4.6 Mesa 21.1.4
 

brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,253
Reaction score
957
Credits
9,458
OP
J

Josemarialanda

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
113
I may be wrong but it looks like you have the wrong drivers
What distribution are you trying to run? [please don't say Pop] and is it a desktop or lappy your using
you need a distribution with Linux Kernel 5.4.** or better still 5.10, [ Mx with AHS for example] alternatively you will need to download and install linux Ryzen drivers, see...

I'm using Nix OS with kernel 5.14.8. and I'm loading the amdgpu drivers. I benchmarked the GPU and it's working fine.

This problem isn't distro specific. I've tried arch and Ubuntu. Same problem.


It's a desktop.
 

brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,253
Reaction score
957
Credits
9,458
OK from what you say and the result of INXI not recognising the AMD Ryzen by name to my mind it comes down to 2 possibilities either there is a fault in the cpu/graphic chip [unlikely] or corruption in the download/install causing a firmware error, [ I am primarily a hardware man perhaps one of our programming bods may help @f33dm3bits may be along later]
 
OP
J

Josemarialanda

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
113
OK from what you say and the result of INXI not recognising the AMD Ryzen by name to my mind it comes down to 2 possibilities either there is a fault in the cpu/graphic chip [unlikely] or corruption in the download/install causing a firmware error, [ I am primarily a hardware man perhaps one of our programming bods may help @f33dm3bits may be along later]

Thanks
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,894
Reaction score
2,635
Credits
28,127
What distribution and which version of that distribution are you running? Can run the following in a terminal and share the output?
Code:
lsb_release -rc
uname -a
lspci -nnv
For the last command search for the "VGA compatible controller" section and copy the whole section of that device here. Where I would start is after your screen flashes black and returns back to normal is check what dmesg says. Can you also run the following and share the output as well?
Code:
dmesg | grep amdgpu
[ I am primarily a hardware man perhaps one of our programming bods may help @f33dm3bits may be along later]
I'm not a programmer or expert of any kind but I can try and help ;)
 
Last edited:

brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,253
Reaction score
957
Credits
9,458
OP
J

Josemarialanda

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
113
What distribution and which version of that distribution are you running? Can run the following in a terminal and share the output?
Code:
lsb_release -rc
uname -a
lspci -nnv
For the last command search for the "VGA compatible controller" section and copy the whole section of that device here. Where I would start is after your screen flashes black and returns back to normal is check what dmesg says. Can you also run the following and share the output as well?
Code:
dmesg | grep amdgpu

I'm not a programmer or expert of any kind but I can try and help ;)

HERE:

Bash:
[[email protected]:~]$ lsb_release -rc

Release:        21.05.3443.ee90403e147
Codename: okapi

Bash:
[[email protected]:~]$ uname -a

Linux nixos 5.14.8 #1-NixOS SMP Sun Sep 26 12:10:25 UTC 2021 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Bash:
[[email protected]:~]$ lspci -nnv (only VGA compatible controller section)

0a:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Cezanne [1002:1638] (rev c8) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
        Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device [1002:1636]
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 29
        Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=2M]
        I/O ports at e000 [size=256]
        Memory at fca00000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512K]
        Expansion ROM at 000c0000 [virtual] [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [48] Vendor Specific Information: Len=08 <?>
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [64] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable- Count=1/4 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [c0] MSI-X: Enable+ Count=4 Masked-
        Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
        Capabilities: [270] Secondary PCI Express
        Capabilities: [2b0] Address Translation Service (ATS)
        Capabilities: [2c0] Page Request Interface (PRI)
        Capabilities: [2d0] Process Address Space ID (PASID)
        Capabilities: [400] Data Link Feature <?>
        Capabilities: [410] Physical Layer 16.0 GT/s <?>
        Capabilities: [440] Lane Margining at the Receiver <?>
        Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
        Kernel modules: amdgpu

This is the output of dmesg | grep amdgpu after the screen flashing (Doesnt show anything new after the screen flashing black)

Bash:
[[email protected]:~]$ dmesg | grep amdgpu

[    0.321405] stage-1-init: [Fri Oct  1 16:45:02 UTC 2021] loading module amdgpu...
[ 0.477121] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled.
[ 0.477158] amdgpu: Virtual CRAT table created for CPU
[ 0.477163] amdgpu: Topology: Add CPU node
[ 0.477204] fb0: switching to amdgpudrmfb from EFI VGA
[ 0.477251] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: vgaarb: deactivate vga console
[ 0.477311] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: Trusted Memory Zone (TMZ) feature enabled
[ 0.483926] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: Fetched VBIOS from ROM BAR
[ 0.483927] amdgpu: ATOM BIOS: 113-CEZANNE-018
[ 0.483962] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: VRAM: 512M 0x000000F400000000 - 0x000000F41FFFFFFF (512M used)
[ 0.483963] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: GART: 1024M 0x0000000000000000 - 0x000000003FFFFFFF
[ 0.483964] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: AGP: 267419648M 0x000000F800000000 - 0x0000FFFFFFFFFFFF
[ 0.483985] [drm] amdgpu: 512M of VRAM memory ready
[ 0.483986] [drm] amdgpu: 3072M of GTT memory ready.
[ 0.484141] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: PSP runtime database doesn't exist
[ 0.484653] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: Will use PSP to load VCN firmware
[ 1.274532] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: RAS: optional ras ta ucode is not available
[ 1.282225] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: RAP: optional rap ta ucode is not available
[ 1.282226] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: SECUREDISPLAY: securedisplay ta ucode is not available
[ 1.283249] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: SMU is initialized successfully!
[ 1.338578] kfd kfd: amdgpu: Allocated 3969056 bytes on gart
[ 1.338607] amdgpu: SRAT table not found
[ 1.338608] amdgpu: Virtual CRAT table created for GPU
[ 1.339093] amdgpu: Topology: Add dGPU node [0x1638:0x1002]
[ 1.339094] kfd kfd: amdgpu: added device 1002:1638
[ 1.339095] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: SE 1, SH per SE 2, CU per SH 18, active_cu_number 28
[ 1.339689] fbcon: amdgpu (fb0) is primary device
[ 1.428155] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: [drm] fb0: amdgpu frame buffer device
[ 1.433260] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring gfx uses VM inv eng 0 on hub 0
[ 1.433262] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.0.0 uses VM inv eng 1 on hub 0
[ 1.433262] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.1.0 uses VM inv eng 4 on hub 0
[ 1.433263] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.2.0 uses VM inv eng 5 on hub 0
[ 1.433264] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.3.0 uses VM inv eng 6 on hub 0
[ 1.433264] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.0.1 uses VM inv eng 7 on hub 0
[ 1.433265] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.1.1 uses VM inv eng 8 on hub 0
[ 1.433266] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.2.1 uses VM inv eng 9 on hub 0
[ 1.433266] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.3.1 uses VM inv eng 10 on hub 0
[ 1.433267] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring kiq_2.1.0 uses VM inv eng 11 on hub 0
[ 1.433268] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring sdma0 uses VM inv eng 0 on hub 1
[ 1.433269] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_dec uses VM inv eng 1 on hub 1
[ 1.433270] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_enc0 uses VM inv eng 4 on hub 1
[ 1.433270] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_enc1 uses VM inv eng 5 on hub 1
[ 1.433271] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: ring jpeg_dec uses VM inv eng 6 on hub 1
[ 1.434783] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.42.0 20150101 for 0000:0a:00.0 on minor 0
[ 3.448428] snd_hda_intel 0000:0a:00.1: bound 0000:0a:00.0 (ops __SCT__tp_func_amdgpu_refresh_rate_track [amdgpu])
 
Last edited:
OP
J

Josemarialanda

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
113
What distribution and which version of that distribution are you running? Can run the following in a terminal and share the output?
Code:
lsb_release -rc
uname -a
lspci -nnv
For the last command search for the "VGA compatible controller" section and copy the whole section of that device here. Where I would start is after your screen flashes black and returns back to normal is check what dmesg says. Can you also run the following and share the output as well?
Code:
dmesg | grep amdgpu

I'm not a programmer or expert of any kind but I can try and help ;)

Update. I got my hands on an AMD HD 7970 (very old) and ran mprime again. No screen flashing black now. And I can set the refresh rate to 75 hz no problem.

I'm guessing it's a problem with the BIOS and these new Ryzen chips???

Or maybe there'll be better support with kernel 5.15?
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,894
Reaction score
2,635
Credits
28,127
The only thing I see that might be something is this.
Code:
[ 1.274532] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: RAS: optional ras ta ucode is not available
I think you may still need to install the amd microcode package for the distribution you are running and generate a new grub configuration. On Arch based distributions the package is called amd-ucode, I've never ran the distribution you are running but I would thing it would be called something similar.
 
OP
J

Josemarialanda

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
113
The only thing I see that might be something is this.
Code:
[ 1.274532] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: RAS: optional ras ta ucode is not available
I think you may still need to install the amd microcode package for the distribution you are running and generate a new grub configuration. On Arch based distributions the package is called amd-ucode, I've never ran the distribution you are running but I would thing it would be called something similar.

Already did that

On Nix OS the equivalente is the following

Code:
  # Upadte microcode.
  hardware.cpu.amd.updateMicrocode = true;

According to the documentatio, this does the following:

Update the CPU microcode for AMD processors.
 
OP
J

Josemarialanda

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
113
Already did that

On Nix OS the equivalente is the following

Code:
  # Upadte microcode.
  hardware.cpu.amd.updateMicrocode = true;

According to the documentatio, this does the following:

Update the CPU microcode for AMD processors.

Maybe I should try installing the amdgpu-pro drivers? tho these perform worse ive heard.
 
OP
J

Josemarialanda

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
113
The only thing I see that might be something is this.
Code:
[ 1.274532] amdgpu 0000:0a:00.0: amdgpu: RAS: optional ras ta ucode is not available
I think you may still need to install the amd microcode package for the distribution you are running and generate a new grub configuration. On Arch based distributions the package is called amd-ucode, I've never ran the distribution you are running but I would thing it would be called something similar.

I fixed it! It was the HDMI cable. quite strange. I swapped it for a displayPort cable and now everything works fine. No more black screen flashing in mprime and i can set the resolution to 75 hz just fine.

I had tried many different hdmi cables so it wasnt a broken cable. Appareantly somethings broken with the amdgpu drives and hdmi.
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,894
Reaction score
2,635
Credits
28,127
Maybe I should try installing the amdgpu-pro drivers? tho these perform worse ive heard.
I have never used de amdgpu-pro drivers, I use opensource drivers if they are available for my hardware.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online


Top