Shopping for a Linux laptop

Eisenkrote

Reaction score
Credits
Good day.

I'm relatively new to command line Linux. I picked up a MintBox a few months back and have dug into it with the help of a few books and Udemy courses. I'd like to expand my understanding of it going forward, which should open up a few job possibilities for me.

While the MintBox is a great little desktop, I'm hitting a portability issue. I'd like to attend my local Linux user group, and be able to take my projects into work with me. I have an ancient macbook, but I've been considering switching to a full Linux laptop.

Which opens up all sorts of possibilities. I'm not doing anything strenuous, so I don't necessarily need the Dell XPS line. But a large, readable screen would be nice, and common enough hardware specs that I can throw Ubuntu or some flavor of Red Hat without too much fuss.

Are there any specific specs you look for in a laptop, when considering a purchase for Linux use?

If your old macbook has an Intel CPU, you could possibly boot Linux on a USB flash drive on it. You'd want to use a Linux distro with "persistence" capability so it could save your projects too. That's the cheapest way to go, if it would work for you.

I'm cheap when I buy new too... on-sale items at a big box store in the $200-$300 range appeal far more to me than stuff in the $700-$1000 range. Linux will install on just about anything, but you can run into difficulties to work out whether you spend a little or a lot. Anything that is "latest-greatest" or systems with special-feature hardware may not have Linux drivers available. I'd avoid Chromebooks with plans for Linux unless you read up on that first... I've never owned one but it seems they are quite a different animal than standard laptops. I think plain old run-of-the-mill laptops/notebooks, even something used and a little older, are about the best for my uses.... 4GB or more of RAM, 500GB or more HDD/SSD, just basic stuff.