[SELF-SOLVED] Loading initramdisk became slower after adding new HDD

rado84

Reaction score
Credits
As of today I have 3x HDD and 2x SSD, with the 500GB HDD being reattached today ("reattached" because I had it removed 2 years ago and stashed it, now I found it and put it back into the computer). Up until the attaching of this HDD when booting the OS there was always something called "loading initramdisk" which so far has always taken about half a second before proceeding to loading linux. But after attaching the said HDD this initramdisk loading process became 5-6 seconds longer. Though I suspect this has something to do with this HDD, I'm not an expert and I have no idea why this is happening, so if you do, please share them.
I did a HDD test and it's in perfect health. Not a single physical or logical bad sector. Considering that this HDD was used for about 6 months before stashing it, it's not surprising and even before I did the HDD I suspected it would be OK. Which leaves me confused as to why the loading of initramdisk became slower.

I did some Googling for that problem but found nothing conclusive. In one topic on reddit the others asked the OP what partitions and filesystems he had, so I'm answering that question here, in case you need that info:
1x ext4 where Linux is.
5 more NTFS partitions, one of which is Windows 7. The rest are just for storage.

I would speculate that when you added the extra disks to your system that the processes that are called by your initramdisk are simply taking longer to run because of the demand your system is making. There are processes of premounting, mounting, setting filesystems info and lots more which is done for each disk. In my case of debian, it's possible to see what's in the initramfs (as distinct from your initramdisk) with the command:
Code:
 lsinitramfs -l /boot/<RamDiskImage>
There are a multitude of processes that are associated with settings for the extra disks in there on my system.