Screen Mirror/Wireless Casting???

jbar2016

Reaction score
Credits
i am new to linux, starting to get used to the OS, i am using kubuntu.

i am wondering what i can use to screen mirror from kubuntu?

Hi @jbar2016 and welcome to linux.org :)

Have you tried Google with "wireless casting kubuntu", and were there any useful leads there?

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz

i am wondering what i can use to screen mirror from kubuntu?

I don't use much "screen mirroring"... but I think of it as a way to bluetooth connect between my phone and my smart TV. Maybe there are other applications too, but I just don't do much of this sort of thing.

What you may be asking about, instead, is "remote desktop." This is a very similar thing (in my mind)... so that you could control your Kubuntu Linux from another computer (or even from your phone). The app I use for this is TeamViewer... but I have never used it with a phone. Personally, I don't trust phones too much, and anything with remote connection capability to your home computer should be thoughtfully considered for the risk it presents.

Remote desktop is a great troubleshooting tool for helping people who live too far away, and there are other ways of doing remote desktop besides TeamViewer... but TeamViewer makes it very easy. If you decide to test it, you need to use the same version on each device that you will connect. I am still using version 12 and have never upgraded to v13, so I don't know about it specifically.

Cheers

You could stream your linux desktop to your TV using something like a chromecast stick.

I've never tried using chromecast, but that would offer the most portable and wireless option at relatively low cost. The only tricky bit might be getting it working - with any luck the following link has that covered:
https://www.linux.com/learn/how-stream-content-linux-system-chromecast