Root user

James Feltt

Reaction score
Credits
I’m completely new to Linux and my questions will confirm that. How do you obtain root privileges and obtain a password?

G'day James, another youngun like me (I'm 61), we've had 70, 73, 68 and so on all in the last week, good to see :)

Are you using a Linux Distro (distribution) at the moment, and if so, which one?

For example - Linux Mint 19, Ubuntu 18.04 &c.

There are broadly speaking five (5) different Families in Linux, and there are some differences in how they require the setting of passwords for regular users and Root.

Cheers

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz

G'day James, another youngun like me (I'm 61), we've had 70, 73, 68 and so on all in the last week, good to see :)

Are you using a Linux Distro (distribution) at the moment, and if so, which one?

For example - Linux Mint 19, Ubuntu 18.04 &c.

There are broadly speaking five (5) different Families in Linux, and there are some differences in how they require the setting of passwords for regular users and Root.

Cheers

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz
Thanks Chris. I was able to figure it out after an online search. I do appreciate your efforts. I’m using Kali (just for fun and learn more about penetration testing-I’m not a hacker). I will have many more issues and questions as I learn more about this.

Not sure you received my message. I was able to figure it out. I’m using Kali to learn more about penetration testing (not a hacker). Sincerely appreciate your efforts.

Welcome to linux.org @tchakatak :)

As @tchakatak has said, James, if you are in Kali you will by default be Root, and unless you choose to initiate another User, with or without Administrative privileges, that is all you need.

I would be remiss if I did not say to you that Kali is not the ideal Linux Distro to cut your teeth on with Linux, but you are also old enough for me to not have to tell you to come in out of the rain :D - your call.

Cheers

Wizard

Welcome to linux.org @tchakatak :)