Repair grub every morning

n_spect_r

Reaction score
Credits
I have been running Windows 7 and Linux CNC as dual boot for about 5 years. For the past month, nearly every morning when I try to start the computer I have to run disk repair and reinstall grub. I assume that something is messing with Grub from new software.

After reinstalling grub try using grub-customizer on it. This will turn grub into a set of scripts that not every software can read or change and reboot to see what happens.
Also, the default Windows 7 installer is known to do that to grub. If the above doesn't work, download Windows 7 Generation2 release from torrent, install it and activate it with your code. The Generation2 releases use the installer of Windows 10 which doesn't mess with grub BUT only!!! if Windows 7 is installed on a different disk. If both Linux and Windows are on the same storage device, Windows will always screw up grub.

Thanks for the quick response, both systems are on the same disk. Is there a way to move LinuxCNC to a partition on a second drive I'd like to try that.

Sure there is. Clonezilla Live has that option - to copy disk to disk or partition to disk, or partition to partition - you just have to read the options very carefully. Remember!!! after copying Linux to the new partition, you gotta update grub to boot from the new partition and you gotta format the old partition, so that you end up with just one Linux on the new partition.

As I'm thinking this through a bit more. If I'm adding a different drive, why do I need dual boot? I can select the boot device at startup? How difficult is it to remove grub and fix the windows loader? Then I could just install Linuxcnc on the second drive. (if it weren't for the fact that my company uses some software that requires windows, I'd get rid of it).

Until recently a friend of mine thought the same too - that the software his company requires Windows and I proved him wrong. If it's not a secret, what is the software?